Beautiful Antigua


Advertisement
Central America Caribbean
August 16th 2010
Published: August 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

UsUsUs

Our traditional self taken photo
We left Guatemala City this morning and enjoyed a serene drive to the colonial city of Antigua. This city really is like no other place on earth. From the muted plastered buildings, to the cobblestone streets, you feel like you have stepped back in time when you come here. The streets are immaculate. We spent the day exploring the plaza, the Cathedral and enjoying some delicious food.

I have to keep close eye on John when walking. Yesterday he walked right into a hole in the sidewalk. One minute he was right next to me, the next minute his head was at my elbow. He got a pretty nasty scrape to show for it. Today he tripped over a slippery step and almost pushed me straight down into a crypt. I think I'll walk behind him from now on.

I plan to spend the night on the roof of my amazing hotel (that I promised John he could write about) reading a book and enjoying the views of the mountains and volcanos. We climb Pacaya tomorrow. Can't wait to see the lava. What a great way to celebrate John's birthday.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Posada San SebastianPosada San Sebastian
Posada San Sebastian

The view from the roof of our hotel
John's legJohn's leg
John's leg

This is what happens when you don't pay attention


17th August 2010

Ouch
John take care of those cuts all well here loving reading about your day love Mom
18th August 2010

Loved Antiqua!! Enjoy and have a SAFE trip haha! miss you guys

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb