Greetings From Outer Space


Advertisement
Central America Caribbean
February 21st 2006
Published: February 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

This past weekend Sandy and I reconnected in Jaco Beach, and are now staying with Jimena. Sandy is experiencing first hand all that Jaco has to offer... the best is the wonderful tropical climate, amazing landscape, gorgeous sunsets and night skies filled with stars. And staring at those stars, I ALMOST regret not doing what I wanted to do first as a child. Before an artist, I wanted to be an astronaut. I remember clearly the day I rid the idea in my head, maybe about 5 years old. I excitably told my mom about the dream to which she replied "Sherry...you get carsick on the way to the shore, how to you expect to go to outer space without throwing up?" BWOOOOP. Just like that, the idea extinguished. She was right, and dramamine wasn’t around yet, so I pulled out my crayons and colored. I guess this is partly the reason why I find the need to jump out of airplanes and travel around the globe.

-Ending childhood tangent and back to Jaco-

But Jaco also offers endless dog barking, vibrating techno beats, a bounty of MOSQUITOES and many other unidentifiable insects which leave many unidentifiable bite marks, slow internet cafes, power outages (the last outage zapped her ipod, sorry Sandy!), and prostitutes. Sprinkle the town with lots of pot and many illegal drugs and you have Jaco. I have a love-hate relationship with Jaco, but I can’t help but come back to visit. Its like a marriage, for better or for worse, and I did commit to living here 2 years ago for a short while. Now that I am divorced from it, I am left with many “interesting” memories and a few very good friends, including Jason and Rachel, The Australian couple I will be visiting come this Sunday (time is moving fast!). It is nice to be reminded of those, but it is also nice to be reminded that i made the right choice by leaving.

Here are a few shots from Jaco, as well as a few shots from our previous weekend in Montezuma beach, an hour boat ride from Jaco and a much quieter scene.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Backyard ViewBackyard View
Backyard View

Our room in Montezuma overlooking the ocean
Montezuma WildlifeMontezuma Wildlife
Montezuma Wildlife

A photo from Sandy's exploring in Montezuma
The GalsThe Gals
The Gals

Jimena and I take Sandy to our favorite Jaco spots.
BeheadingBeheading
Beheading

Don't worry mom, it's not real...well, the machete is real, but the beheading isn't. Jose is another friend from Jaco and the groundkeeper for the school. Here he is kindly persuading me to run away with him to Nicaragua.
Sleeping BeautySleeping Beauty
Sleeping Beauty

Perros. They're everywhere. This morning I woke up with this one outside our apartment, I especially like the drool puddle.
Sandy SunshineSandy Sunshine
Sandy Sunshine

Sandy and a new friend


22nd February 2006

Hola Jaco
I wish I could be there. I remember how burnt I got in Jaco (and the margaritas with Aunt Kathy)! You are tan and look great. The pictures are beautiful (actually all pictures look better when you take them for some reason). Have a safe trip to the land down under. Tell Hamana Banana we said hi!
22nd February 2006

Solo Bueno
You look like you are having a blast. Stay safe. Dxx
24th February 2006

Hola Sherry
Wish I was there! Love reading about your adventures...and can't wait to see your new salsa moves this summer! xoxox S
1st March 2006

Hola
Hey Sherry, The pictures are so amazing!! Love viewing them and also very jealous!! Looks like you are having an awesome time. Miss ya. Be safe(:

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb