39C


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
March 1st 2006
Published: March 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

NeighborhoodNeighborhoodNeighborhood

A view from Rachel and Jason's front porch, a quaint and quiet little neighborhood a few blocks from the beach in Sydney.
39C was where I spent my Sunday night. No, it is not a room number, it was my seat number on an overseas flight to Australia.

(By the way I have a bone to pick with whoever was sitting in 40C and thought that it was a good idea to play YAHTZEE throughout the night, who plays that anyway?)

I guess I have some thoughts on this since I had about 30 hours to think about it. Anyway, it does weird things to your head, not to mention your body. Consistent exposure to dry recycled plane air makes blinking and swallowing quite unpleasant as your natural bodily fluids begin to dry up, no matter how much water you drink. I also had a good handful of nosebleeds, which is not a complaint at all, I don’t think it’s a bad deal considering I was being transferred to the other side of the world. Much better than the days of exploration where months were spent on a ship plagued with famine, disease and no dramamine.

But now I am adjusting to the 16 hour time change, what a whacky feeling. I skipped Monday, February 27th completely, so it just
Tour GuideTour GuideTour Guide

Jason showing me the beaches along the coast. The weather is PERFECT, about 80 degrees, sunny with a good ocean breeze.
didn’t exist. I know its logical but it still feels odd and I cant help to caculate what hour and day it is in Philadelphia every time I look at my watch... so it’s 4am on Thursday, which means it’s noon yesterday at home. And that explains why I'm starving for a big sandwich right now. It is kind of fun to think about, a good exercise in remembering the other people living on the planet.

I finally arrive in Sydney, Australia on Tuesday morning with a very foggy head as a result of 5 dramamines, the aforementioned air quality, lack of sleep and lack of fresh oxygen...oh and being served breakfast 3 times since we kept hitting time changes on the flight. I am greeted by Jason at the airport, and since then I have been spoiled completely. And I’m not just saying that because he could be reading this. I’m loving Sydney so far, especially catching up with Rachael and Jason. There will be plenty of photos and stories to share these next 3 weeks. I haven’t seen any boomerangs, but there are kangaroos in the backyard.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Kangaroos!Kangaroos!
Kangaroos!

Here you go Lisa (:


2nd March 2006

great perspective!!
thanks for the humorous commentary on the plane ride over! and now i have a real sense of JUST HOW FAR AWAY YOU ARE!!!!! WAAAHHHHHHH!!!!!!!
3rd March 2006

Wow, Sydney looks beautiful!

Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0824s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb