To flush or not to flush...


Advertisement
Published: April 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

... as Aimee has pointed out, it really is quite the important question! Depending on where we go and where we are staying they have different rules about this. Some places ask you not to flush ANY toilet paper while others are totally kewl with it! You're never really quite sure about what to do. I (and I think I can speak for Aimee on this one too) look forward to going back to the states and not having to think about this at all!

Today was FRIGGIN' AWESOME! We woke up early and were picked up to go to our canyoning trip! This is the website of the company we booked with... http://www.arenal.net/tour/pure-trek-costa-rica.htm. It was SO AMAZINGLY AWESOME! The guys were super nice and they really helped make you way less nervous! It was pretty funny as well... so we get picked up by the group, they drive us to another place where we get onto 4x4s and off-road to the forest where we take a quick little hike to our first drop. At the first waterfall two people could rappel down at the same time. Of course, Aimee and I are the FIRST ONES to go! We get strapped in and then Aimee and I kind of look at each other with this "holy shit, we're the first ones to go" type look and then we both have our respective "holy shit... what the f*ck are we doing?!" looks when our guides tell us to turn around and lean back! We have awesome pictures of this spot... I think it was a 150 drop (Aimee will have to correct me on that one!) and it was STRAIGHT DOWN on the side of a waterfall! We can't load pictures onto the computer at this place so we'll have to wait until we get back to show you all the pictures but oh my goodness! haha I actually had an easier time on the first drop than Aimee did, I think. Well, I was pushing off and getting down faster! Once I leaned back and realized there was nowhere to go but down I just kinda said to myself "f*ck it!" and went for it! The guys at the bottom were super great and were yelling up at us all these funny and supportive things! I know it made me feel a LOT better! Once we both got down and looked back up to the top it was like "holy crap! we actually did that!! That was so awesome! One down! Four more to go!!!" It was a LOT of fun! I did slam my back into a rock at the last drop though. It was in a small waterfall and when I pushed off the rock I got thrown by the water into the side of the mountain. It hurt a bit but it was still TOTALLY worth it! Rappelling is so much fun!

When we got back we just lounged around the pool talking about what we were going to do the last couple of days in Costa Rica. I definitely fell asleep at the pool today while sunbathing, haha. I was lying on my stomach and I totally passed out... woke up with a bit of drool and everything! Aimee spent the entire time in her hammock. She says she is seriously considering getting rid of her bed and replacing it with a hammock. I think we are going to go hammock shopping tomorrow! FUN! 😊

Tomorrow is a pretty packed day... we are going on an ATV waterfall tour in the morning and then I am going to do a volcano hike in the afternoon. Then Aimee is going to meet up with me at one of the hot springs in the evening!

BTW... I realize that this blog is totally from my perspective! I keep telling Aimee to either stay with me while I am blogging or to add her own section! I think she says she is going to blog about it when we get back! I think her blogging would be pretty funny though! For example, I am pretty sure that Aimee's blog entry about today's happenings would be something like this...

"Day 8... coffee, canyoning (fucking awesome!), beer, cigarettes, beer, hammock, beer, dinner, beer, pool, cards, beer, shower, sleep"

haha... she might hurt me for that one but I think it's funny so I'll take my chances 😊

Advertisement



17th April 2009

So when you get home I can take you rapelling on the cliffs by camp??
17th April 2009

haha... TOTALLY!!! Well... as long as you aren't the one setting all of the ropes up :)

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb