Day 6 - Last day at Tamarindo!


Advertisement
Published: April 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Another day at the beach! It was really nice... VERY hot... but really quite nice! We got to also watch the sunset on the beach and had dinner on the beach as well! There were so many CUTE puppies randomly running around on the beach! They would have TOTALLY fit inside my backpack too... dagnabbit!

OH! OH! OH! What are the odds that I would run into one of my friends from NYU while in another country on a random side road that is not the closest to the main strip?! haha... APPARENTLY GOOD! Yes, I ran into one of my friends RANDOMLY in costa rica. It was quite funny. Aimee and I had just left the supermarket (we we're totally cooking our own stuff much of the time we were at the last place so we could save some money... backpacker style!) and were walking back to our hostel which was off the main strip kind of out of the way a little. Then something CRAZY happens... I hear Mikey's laugh and think to myself "no... it can't be!" and sure enough Mikey, Kerry and two of their friends are walking down the same road towards Aimee and me! We didn't get to hang out with them at all but it was nice to run into familiar faces at such an odd time! 😊

I started talking more to some people who were staying at the hostel with us... one guy from Alaska and one from Colorado. I ended up hanging out with Jake (Colorado) for a bit of the day and then Jake, Aimee and I went out to a party that night. Oh man! I met some locals and one guy wouldn't leave me alone! Jake came over and told the guy he was my husband haha and that was kind of a running joke for the rest of the night! We also ran into two other people who took the shuttle with us to the town the day before! It was a nice sized group and we pretty much kept drinking and hanging with the locals and other visitors to costa rica! Oh man... there were so many hookers at the bar too! They kept approaching Jake and Brandon (a shuttle guy) and as the night went on I think Brandon had more and more fun just flirting with them. It was a little odd but hey... whatever floats his boat! I did get to swing dance to music that was SO NOT for swing dancing! Jake and I made it work though! It was fun and nice not to have to lead for a change 😊

It was quite a late night - Aimee, Jake and I didn't get back to our hostel until like 3 or 3:30 (I don't remember what time it was!) and all three of us had to wake up super early to get to our next destinations! Aimee and I had to catch a 6:45am shuttle to the volcano, which means that I had to try to convince my body that although I was super tipsy and super tired that I had to wake myself up in less than 3 hours to get all my stuff together and wake Aimee up. Note to self... bring a small alarm clock next time! My body is good at waking up when I need to but it's nice not to have to push our luck!

Oh yeah! And of course Aimee has been picking on me for not drinking as much as her BUT we have been drinking different beers (I'm not a huge fan of the one she has taken a liking to!) AND we found out that my choice beer has a much higher alcohol content than hers! See... I'm drinking less but still getting the job done 😊 SO THERE! :-P

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb