Metamorphic rocks friggin' hurt!


Advertisement
Published: April 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We got on a shuttle bus to Tamarindo (the next city on our list!) at 7:45 this morning. The shuttle was packed and although it was air conditions (not many things are down here!) it was still pretty warm being cramped in with all of the people! After 4 1/2 hours of off roading we finally got to our destination! The ride was rough... literally. More than half of it was on dirt road that was so bumpy it literally gave me a headache! Aimee and I made friends with some people on the shuttle! One guy was from Oregon and there was another guy and girl from NY - Brooklyn! Everyone has been pretty friendly so YAY!

Our hostel in Tamarindo is pretty nice! I think this is the nicest place we´ve stayed at so far! At the very least it is definitely the place with the nicest bathroom! haha... oh the stories we can tell you when we get back! Actually, Aimee just got out of the shower and informed me that the water isn´t hot but it´s definitely warmer than what we´ve become used to! Showering with cold water really isn´t that bad! It surprised me how easily I got used to it! (Of course I can NOT wait until I get home and can take a shower in my own bathroom, put on my pjs and lie on my bed with my window wide open watching food network! It´s amazing how you learn to appreciate the little things when they are no longer there!)

We wandered around a bit today and walked all over the beaches! Aimee did an excellent job at hobbling on the road, the sand, the rocks, in water, EVERYWHERE! haha. I am quite proud of her and her feet! She´s broken but she´s doing an amazing job!

There are some AWESOME rocks here! I am SUPER excited and it´s kinda reving me up for our visit to an actual volcano later this week! I love rocks! Actually, I think this trip is totally reawakening the geologist in me! I keep bugging Aimee with useless rock info. She´s being super nice tolerating it all! She hasn´t told me to shut up ONCE yet! (haha... at least about the rock stuff).

We walked on the beach for a while and Aimee was barefoot and walking in the water. I was on the sand for most of the time but we got to this part that was by a cliff and required walking in the water. I took my shoes off and OH MAN! The rock was sharp! It hurt walking on the rocks! I can´t believe Aimee did it for as long as we were walking! She´s quite nuts! And although we all knew that (haha 😊) we can all rest assured that by the end of this trip Aimee will have incredibly tough feet! No pedicures for Aimee! Unless of course it includes a sandblaster haha 😊

On our way back we stopped at this bar and had AMAZING nachos! They were homemade... oh man! I think I am getting spoiled with the food here! I also found a beer that I like! I wasn´t a fan of the stuff we were drinking while at Santa Teresa. Now that I´ve found one that I actually like... who knows 😊



Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb