Settling In


Advertisement
Central America Caribbean
December 20th 2008
Published: December 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Monkey 43 secs

Buenos!!

I am settling in nicely here in paradise! I have officially started work, or at least training. I've been working the lunch shift, which includes serving meals to guests and working the bar a little. Mostly beer though, so my bar tending skills haven't expanded much. Oh well, I can't complain, it is pretty stress free. Everyone here is really nice, and treat me very well. The ticos (costa ricans) who work here have been very patient and helpful
The other night I "went out on the town" to a restaurant, where the entire town came to watch a big futbol (soccer) game. I guess "our" team won, so it was a great time. Then it turned into a club/dance hall scene, and everyone let loose and had a good time. It took a couple rum and cokes, but I even learned a little salsa!
I've also starting practicing yoga--Lisa is teaching me. Man oh man, if you could see the way this girl can bend!! I have a lot to learn, but it is great exercise and I'm loving it.
Other than that, I have just been taking it easy and practicing my spanish (WHAT A TASK!!!). It is extremely frustrating, and I feel like I'm getting nowhere, but it's only been a week. I've been reassured that I'm making progress...but the people here are just way to nice to tell me otherwise. I've attached some new pics and a video of a monkey, as requested.
Love you all!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0178s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb