Fut


Advertisement
Published: May 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello Tarts one and all

Today sees the start of my second week officially on the Ship. Apparently on this blog thing you can upload a map or something but I can't be bothered and the internet connection is a bit, no wait very poo. So to let you know, I am at a small island owned by the company called Princess Cays (think little island like Jack Sparrow was marooned on, but with shops, cabannas and oh yes, ME!

Well, yesterday I had an insanely hard day shooting the first embarkation of the next group of suckers that are cruising with us for a week. To give you an idea of what this means - Mea and another photographer have a backdrop each of a very cheesy beach scene complete with idyllic boat and palm trees at each gangplank. We then shoot everyone, and I mean EVERYONE who comes aboard. Given that the ship holds 3100 people, this means I alone shot at least 1500 tourists between 11am and 4pm. I can't feel my feet today.

I want to have a little rant now as you select few for read this are to be treated as one giant ear to listen to my rantings (nothing new there lol).

Basically, the folks I work with are a mixed bunch. Some of them are bloody fantastic and really good people, but there are others who have adopted this "I can't be fucked" attitude. Fair enough they may only have a few weeks left of their contracts, but how about letting the new guy know a few things. The first time I went to Princess Cays for example, I didn't know you had to get there by a launch from the ship. I ended up spending ages looking round for these bastards until a mate of mind in security told me and I ffound the shore team all sat on the boat. "NEW GUY NEEDS TO KNOW THESE THINGS" Thats just one example, but there are a few things like that that annoy me. Some things you think people would have the decency to tell you. Also (and this one may sound funny) Some of the girls drink wayy too much. We finish work most days at about midnight. Often with a 8:30 start the next day. So they turn up in the morning, grumbling about their hangovers as if its endearing to everyone else and generally do bugger all. I wouldn't mind so much (heaven knows I like a few drinkses) but this happens EVERY DAY. What incentive does this give me to work? why should I bother my arse if they're not? Fortunately I am told that the manager knows about this so I know that someone else is pissed off with it too.

Well there goes my rant. thanks guys (and thank you for the tea and biscuits)

All the best

p.s I want to apologise for how dry these blogs are. I wish I could put some pics up of what i am doing, but unfortunately the computers here are locked away so I can't upload squat. Most humble apologies.

Advertisement



29th May 2007

big hug
aw robs-cheer up me ol mucker-at least you had nowt to do with the horrendous film that is pirates of the carripoo three. an unbeleivable waste of three hours!! i hope that there are some beautiful things out there to make up for the selfish tarts-women huh. you can only hope that they will get caught drunk in the cargo hold a-lah titanic steamy scene and be thrown over board... keep up the good work-i hope you do get some time off to feel your toes in the sand. miss you dude.

Tot: 0.585s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0553s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb