Tangents Over Time


Advertisement
Published: April 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post


Sickness...


In the past weeks I have been more ill than I have felt since I was a kid. I always thought ear infections were for little kids with too much snot in their nose, but apparently adults can be victims as well. So, here are few thoughts from the past weeks when I have had time to reminisce over things. Thanks for reading...

Sick Sunshine


I went to sleep at midnight in hopes of shaking off the raw throat and head throbs I had been feeling all last week. eight hours of sleep is like the instant oatmeal of cold remedies isn't it? Oh, how my standards have lowered since I've moved my life to this place. I woke coughing up things I didn't know could brew inside my little chest and I could no longer recognize my own voice, I tell everyone it's on 'the next stage', and I'll definately be getting better soon. I lied to the doctor a couple of days ago when I went to refill my stash of theraflu and she asked me how long I've been taking it...I told her only a couple of days and I was "pretty much better." Does
Easter Eggs in San JuanEaster Eggs in San JuanEaster Eggs in San Juan

I love the colors of the buildings, like easter eggs...
it count as a lie? I don't even remember how long I've been sick and like any primate deprived of the necessities of survival I said whatever she wanted to hear when she gave me that skeptical, 'should I really be feeding your addiction?' look. She had the theraflu in her hand after all, the temptation was too great and my instincts took over.

I've discovered sickness as potentially the most difficult encounter in ship life. There's no mom, and really no "one" to bring you chicken soup, I'm not even sure they have chicken soup here. People don't get sick on ships, they disappear into their rooms for days and you wonder where they went. The italian mafia mugged them in the night and their disappearance is only spoken of in hushed tones. All of a sudden, days later they resurface looking rather ravaged and you realize after noticing the piles of empty room service plates next to their door that they've been sick. I think I'm ready to be mugged by the mafia. At least than I could sleep, maybe even read a book in between naps.

Funny though, my continued sickness and loneliness has led to much less of both as I watch co-worker's come out of the woodwork with caring words, visits and stories to entertain me while I lay in bed, even milk and cookies have been offered to help (which I'm not sure help my immune system, but it's sure been my favorite 'get-better' gift I've gotten thus far). Before all my friends went out dancing without me, I had a roomful of people showing me their fancy outfits and giving me hugs before leaving me for the evening.

Yes, sickness is the loneliness, saddest, most mother-deprived problem of all, but I must say, I still feel loved at the end of it.


Loving My Job


The office is quiet of human voices, a futbol game lulls on one of the tv monitors behind me. Dusko and Alex with big puppy dog eyes asked me to record a game show so they could watch the 'big game' in the sports bar downstairs. I always welcome a little quiet and the opportunity to make my guys smile, so I obliged. Sitting here still sick and feeling very reflective with my Earl Grey tea, I smile little smiles to myself thinking how much I love my job. Not always, in fact not very often at all, but I love it. Walking outside on Lido Deck and seeing the a panoramic sunny sky shine on the ocean and beach chairs full of happy, sleeping mother's and father's. Wild haired, sopping wet pool dwellers running in front of my camera and laughing, hoping for five seconds of fame on the Carnival Television Network. It's fun. Walking through the corridors towards the cafe for another necessary white chocolate mocha and hearing someone yell, 'Hey, it's camera girl who put me on tv!' I can feel their smile on my back like the sun outside on Lido and it warms me inside and out. People do that to me.


A Great Birthday


Since birthday pics will be donning this blog, I thought I should put credit where much credit is due and contribute a few words to some of the greater moments I've had on this ship and ever.
I had to work on my birthday, filming the infamous deck party at midnight full of happy drunks dancing sideways to the electric slide and slinking conga lines in and out of stairways and deck chairs as far as my peripheral can stretch. I thought I would be angry, working on my birthday, missing whatever celebration was prepared for me in the crew bar. But, I loved dancing in circles around the deck with the guest's, forgetting the incredibly heavy camera cutting off the circulation to the knotted muscles on my shoulder. Big Sexy, the over-zealous and incredibly huggable Assistant Cruise Director even surprised me with an announcement to a gathered crowd who cheered, hooted, hollared and waved just because I had turned twenty-two. All this joy and attention and fun seemed too much too pig pile onto one day. And, then I went to the crew bar....
Balloons, A sign designed, decorated, printed on the wall with my name on it. A cake and plates and a couch full of cheering people welcomed me. For hours one person and another hugged me, kissed me, told me I was beautiful. A few sleepy, soggy faced friends stumbled towards me for a birthday hug. They had gotten out of bed at 2am to tell me Happy Birthday, and stumbled promptly back into their warm covers.
Those moments when tears stay on the corners of your eyes and sheer, elated joy keep your eyes glassy and smiling, that night was a starry sky full of those moments. I'm still grateful and on the brink of those tears when I think of it. It was the night my heart felt full and cared for in a way too unique to wrap up in a box with a bow and show people with words or stories. It was my night and I will keep it with me always.
Oh, and the best part was chocolate fudge cake that tasted like heaven itself...I ate a monstrous piece of it.

Dangling my feet...



'Can you reach?' Pink and Purple braids swayed back and forth while my new friend katie shook her head at the water lapping from the water's surface onto her sun-flushed toes. She was afraid of the fish, so I had convinced the tear-stained ten year old to forget the mockery of big brother's and sit on the edge of the boat with me. What a moment. The beat-up little ship rocked my feet and hers in and out of the water while we watched orange and neon-green straws bob surface of the water fifty feet out. I lost all the desire I had earlier to get in the water and see the rainbow of purple-fanned coral, blue and black striped anchiovies, yellow nemos, and earl-grey stringrays claimed to have been seen by exhausted snorkeler's climbing the silver stairs next to us. I just wanted to sit with Katie and ask her questions, watch her smile and feel important for just a couple minutes. I knew I had been kind in someway by helping her not to cry, but really, she was the one making me feel special. And, when she stuck her nose in the air at her big brother's a few moments later and hopped into the water, fish and all, I felt even more special. She wanted me to be with her when she first put her face in the water and I couldn't have been more privileged than to be by her side.

Always Learning



My time here is a constant learning process personally and professionally. I'm learning to say no, how to care about people and which people they should be (there are too many to choose from), how to love and to take care of myself. And, then, there's my job which I have more to learn about than I have the strength to carry out. So wish me luck on that one 😊
Thanks for reading this month, as always, I will try to get another group of thoughts out there in a couple of weeks. We reposition to New York and Canada at the end of May with a few stops in the Bahamas....I can't wait!



Learning is finding out what we already know. Doing is demonstrating that you know it. Teaching is reminding others that they know just as well as you. You are all learners, doers and teachers. --Richard Bach




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Saying Goodbye to the Super ShoppersSaying Goodbye to the Super Shoppers
Saying Goodbye to the Super Shoppers

Good friends are always leaving around here, these two are from Australia and Canada and are excited to head home (the two blondes)!
On a rooftop in Puerto Rico On a rooftop in Puerto Rico
On a rooftop in Puerto Rico

Relaxing after interviews, the view of the ocean was incredible
The beautiful viewThe beautiful view
The beautiful view

View from the cafe
Quiet City StreetsQuiet City Streets
Quiet City Streets

Almost cobblestone streets...


15th May 2007

Lovely Alyssa
Hey girl I look so forward to your blog updates. We got your postcard and Courtney was thrilled, you to soon should receive a belated Birthday present and writing from Oregon. I am so proud of you. I feel as though I am reading a wonderful biography of my beautiful niece. Thank you Alyssa for giving us part of you through this blog. God Bless you and keep you safe! P.S. so proud of your Mom for what she accomplished on Mom's weekend. Love ya Alyssa, Aunt Marita
15th May 2007

wow
Alyssa, I should have gotten your autograph when I was in your small group 3 years ago. I am so excited for you, it's a blast on the cruise ship, as you are quickly discovering. I hope you are remembering daily how loved and missed you are on land. Never forget how beautiful and special God made you.

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.02s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb