Since I last Wrote....


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » New Brunswick » St John
July 11th 2007
Published: July 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Words are not as satisfactory as we should like them to be, but, like our neighbours, we have got to live with them and must make the best and not the worst of them. --Samuel Butler



Since I last wrote, I’ve been to Charleston and Norfolk, Nassau and Freeport in the Bahamas and traveled up to my new home port in New York City (we’re docked about five streets up from Times Square and Central Park) to start my adventures in New Brunswick and Novia Scotia, Canada. My parents have to come cruise with me, I was almost transferred to another ship back in the Caribbean, we added a Mexicano to our work team, my closest friends have left and I’ve almost quite my job about ten times. Four months is far too long to be at sea and away from real life. I miss normal life; birds chirping, mom’s pushing stroller’s on the sidewalk, softball games, lazy Saturday afternoon’s out on the lawn in a deck chair….eight months is a long time to go without the sun, some grass, and a deck chair….

Despite the ache I get in my chest every time I see a green tree or stream traveling on a tour in Canada or pasted on a big billboard in NYC, I think this is worth it. Daily I fail at something, I miss a phone call, forget how to rewire this computer or that television network, am too slow or too fast, careless or uninformed when I should be chock full of info (I work for Carnival Cruise Lines, shouldn’t I know where the Mediterranean Restaurant is located? no matter there’s ten million restaurants on this ship…). Sam Butler has ingeniously penned the description of my life, “Life is like playing the violin solo in public and learning the instrument as you go along.” So far, I suck at playing the violin. I’m putting some faith in the ‘practice makes perfect’ mantra so I don’t lose my mind.

And, the more I practice and fail (a kajillion times), the closer I get to the dreams that have started to become more clear to me in my time here. I can’t shake my passion for people, caring for them somehow (helping a lost guest find the internet café’ is strangely satisfying), and taking pictures. The majority of the compliments and props I have received since I’ve started working here is somehow connected to the things that I love. My manager Dusko sends me away many times to help a guest because, “I like to talk with the people.” He makes fun of me, but I love it. Here and there people run across my pictures and tell me good things, and it’s nice to feel the encouragement for something I love. I know when I leave this place I will be a step closer to finding a job that fits all those edges that mold Alyssa Bowers.

I know pictures are the best part of seeing what life is like for me, so I’m adding a bunch to try and bring everyone up to speed from the last few months. Despite homesickness and some hard times, I’ve had incredible moments of awe and joy to match. Missing family and friends is painful and I’m grateful for wonderful experiences to help keep me going.

Thanks everyone for reading and checking out the pics! I hope life is treating you fair and the sun is shining wherever you are! More photos and stories of Canada to come....I love it here!

p.s.
I have a New York Address now if anyone would like to write, thanks for all the letter support….it makes me entire week to get a letter…thank you!

Carnival Victory
Attn: Alyssa Bowers #405386
C/O carnival Cruise Link II Ltd.
676 A Ninth Ave
New York, NY 1003









Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



13th July 2007

wow
wow, your life is so cool. God bless you and your fun.
17th July 2007

I love reading about you
Alyssa, I just started my morning out by reading your entire TravelBlog all in one sitting while I drank my cup of coffee. What a wonderful way to start my day. I feel so grateful to get your wonderful words describing all the sites you have enjoyed,but also all the feelings of your ever changing experiences expressed in truth. It is a very delicate balance that you are not privileged to experience right now in your life. It must feel like quite a roller coaster some days with your schedule. I,m praying that all the highs from the people,places, and few quiet times bring you renewed strenght daily. I know you will be forever grateful for these 8 months on the "high seas" and the life lessons. You are God's girl and in his protection daily. He will see you through and give you that delicate balance that only comes from him. We all need it. I love you and miss you like crazy! Aunt Alicia

Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb