Glimpses of Central America


Advertisement
Central America Caribbean
January 24th 2007
Published: January 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So we’re back in our regular cruise schedule: 8 days Western Caribbean, 8 days Southern Caribbean, repeat. The charter have ended and so we’re back to “normal” - though normal for me is still mostly dead. It’s just not a popular time of year for teens to be travelling. There are only 15 onboard and those that are here aren’t coming to the lounge for longer than about 30 minutes at a time to play video games. So I’m working, but working most often means hanging out by myself, knitting, watching TV and typing emails. At least I have my lounge back so I have my own space to work/hang out in.

The last two days we were in Panama and Costa Rica. I was most excited about this run before coming on ship and I was really looking forward to this cruise when I’d be able to get off the ship. But on both days I had more training/emergency drills to attend. So I was able to get off the ship, but only for a couple hours. No excursions, just wandering around the ports and there’s not a lot to see right at the ports.

In Panama, Brooks & I walked to “The Free Zone”, this huge shopping area with about every brand name you can imagine. Except almost all of the shops are for companies to purchase mass quantities of. You can’t buy just that one cute handbag but a crate of them. Scattered here and there are some retail shops and they have some pretty incredible deals. I’m not shopping yet, but I’m sure I will on a return visit. The Free Zone was really bizarre to me. On one hand, it could be in any big North American city, some shops all done up could be in downtown Manhattan. Yet there are small things everywhere that are different and remind you that you’re in a different country - the vehicles, the rough streets, the dirt, the Spanish signs. It was a weird mix.

In Costa Rica, I went on my own. There are lots of tourist shops right by the port and I explored that general area, though I didn’t shop again. There are some really beautiful handcrafts in Costa Rica - wood kitchen items, natural paper, figurines and dolls. I wandered a bit down the different streets that led away from the tourist shops and saw the waterfront, some residential homes, municipal buildings and a random shopping area for the locals that I think was like their mall, but the shops were small, the layout of the building was random and it was generally really crowded. Right by the port there’s also a park that I thought was beautiful. It was quite small, but I loved it. Huge huge huge tropical trees and vines, just like the rainforest, except in a city park! In the middle of it there was a big gazebo-like stage. Stunning. I just imagined how incredible it would be to do public performances there.

There have also been a lot of crew parties this week. A “Flirt Party” out on the crew deck, which was so wonderful because it was out in the open air under the stars. Last night was a “Tex Mex” party in one of the lounges. I’m beginning to feel more comfortable with people around the ship. It’s still slow and I’m not completely at ease, but it’s better. Yet the more comfortable I become, the more I just want the clarity and perspective of home or people from home.

Tomorrow we’re in Belize and I’m getting off and going on an excursion (a city tour) and I can’t wait.

Again a big thank you for comments and emails. They’re a lifeline for me.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



25th January 2007

what a life....
netter, i sent you a private msg....as i know how much you like private things. what a life ehh? lying on the beach all day....and i might just hate you a bit for it, or not (not sure yet) the pics are awesome btw..and i miss you alot. keep postin, i'll be checkin up on you. jung
31st January 2007

Never got a notice of your blogs... I don't think people are getting mine either. I haven't recieved any comments lately and then was surprised to see you had 3 new blogs I didn't know about. Things that make you go hmmmm.... So unfair that you are so close. Brooks looks like fun.

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb