Ships And Dip


Advertisement
Central America Caribbean
January 16th 2007
Published: January 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sister HazelSister HazelSister Hazel

On "The Rock Boat"
The Rock Boat ended without any out of control insanity. But there was insanity. People not wanting to get off the ship, people too drunk to get of the ship . . . I went around and saw some more performances - Cowboy Mouth, Five Star Iris, the big final Sister Hazel show. I enjoyed them a lot more than I’d expected to.

We’re now partway through a second charter, though the vibe on this one is much less intense crowd. The “Ships And Dip” (oh punny punny isn’t it?) charter’s headlining artists are none other than the Barenaked Ladies! Yay for some good old homegrown Canadian Content! They had a big show tonight and I saw most of it. I’m in no way a huge fan (though their holiday album plays over and over again each December), but I really really enjoyed them. They’re just so easy going and fun onstage. And knowing a bunch of their songs helps.

Sean Cullen is also on the ship. I went to see part of his show last night too. Unfortunately it wasn’t that great. Certainly not as good as other times I’ve seen his work. I want to see some
The Barenaked LadiesThe Barenaked LadiesThe Barenaked Ladies

"Ships And Dip"
of the other artists whose work I’m not familiar with. I hope to “find me a find” of some great music.

Something else interesting about this charter is there is an environmental awareness campaign going on. This afternoon I went by the “Barenaked Planet” headquarters and got a lot of interesting information about different environmental organizations and campaigns. I haven’t had a chance to check out these sites, but their written stuff I saw here on the ship looks great:

Grist - Environmental news and humour: www.grist.org
The Naked Truth Project - Tells you what is in products we use everyday and healthier options: www.thenakedtruthproject.org
The Virtual March for stopping global warming (I think this is very US based, but still): www.stopglobalwarming.org
Reware - A company that makes regular hand bags, except they charge with solar power and then they can be used to run anything that has a charger plug like in your car. Really cool. www.rewarestore.com

I’ve got to be honest though, I’m really fighting boredom! I have more teens this cruise and some came out last night, but mostly it’s still dead. So I’m not working a whole lot, we’re almost always at sea and well, you can only spend so much time eating, sleeping, watching TV/DVDs and going to the gym! So while free concerts are great, I’m counting the days until we’re back on our regular route and I’m working and doing stuff again.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Sean CullenSean Cullen
Sean Cullen

"Ships And Dip"


18th January 2007

BARNAKED LADIES!!! Grrr... so jealous. awesome.
21st January 2007

OKay, you are making ME jealous!
I have been with Carnival for 7 years and haven't done a lot of the things that you have experienced in your first month! Good to be friends with the spa girls! And two charters in a row!!! The techs must have LOVED that!! Very envious that you got to see BNL! And I warned you about the boringness... you mentioned boredom, best thing to do is make friends in the crew bar... brave the smoke Jeanette, it's the best way to meet people on the ship :) Keep living it large Jeanette :)

Tot: 0.453s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb