Rock The Boat


Advertisement
Central America Caribbean
January 12th 2007
Published: January 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Me & TaraMe & TaraMe & Tara

The Club O2 Directors!
Tara left yesterday and I am now officially the sole Club O2 Director onboard. We also finished off the last cruise. Pics here are of Tara’s last night at the Legend Crew Bar and of some of the teens from the last cruise.

Our current cruise is crazy. Our entire ship has been chartered out by a company who has sold vacations to attend this special cruise that’s happening: Rock The Boat. Basically, there are 3000 rock fans onboard who are here to sail, party and watch rock concerts for 4 days. Onboard we have something like a dozen bands including Better Than Ezra, Sister Hazel and Collective Soul. The concerts start at 9am and there is always live music somewhere until 4am. It is crazy I tell you! During the boat drill yesterday, everybody was already drinking and sort of stumbling their way down the stairs. If there was some sort of general emergency over the next few days, it would be disastrous!

Everywhere on the ship you can hear the music, or at least the bass . . . I briefly watched a bit of the Better Than Ezra show this afternoon. They played James’ “Laid” and I thought of Glenn drumming on his steering wheel. They also played that song “Juicy”? which I only know from the Desperate Housewives commercials! Then tonight Brooks & I wandered around, saw a bit of Cowboy Mouth and some individual acts. The big artists are later tonight & I'm just not going to make it til then.

I am sick. Again. My head feels like it’s stuffed with cotton and my neck feels swollen to five times it’s size. The sinus pressure is a bit too extreme when in the playing venues. But I’ve still got 3 more days full of concerts, so I’ll get to some more eventually.

So what work am I doing in all of this? My lounge has been taken over by production staff so I’m using a room in the Camp Carnival (activities for up to 14 year olds) headquarters. There are a grand total of 11 teens onboard of age to do Club O2. I’m offering activities each afternoon, but so far no one’s coming. So I’ve been watching soap operas on TV, 24 on my laptop and am basically entertaining myself. Easy? Yes. But also boring.

All of my Keating friends are currently headed to New York City for the annual guide appreciation weekend/party. Seeing all of the crazy party-ers is making me miss the crazy Keating party even more. Hopefully tomorrow will help ease that.

Tomorrow we will be in Grand Turk and I will FINALLY get off the ship. It’s been about 10 days since I’ve been on land. Grand Turk is supposed to be stunningly beautiful. It’s a very small island and cruiselines have only started going there in the last year or so. I’ve got an excursion booked. And it’s free. I’m excited and SO ready to walk on land in the fresh air and sunshine.

Oh, and in other exciting news . . . I switched cabins to my permanent one now. I’m rooming with a Canadian dancer named Shannon. And I’ve finally been able to completely unpack and put up photos and have a space feel a bit more like my own. So for those crazy expensive phone calls you’re making - ask for room A064 now 😊

AND I got a free facial in the spa yesterday. I was a “model” for the spa tour. I’m on the list for another one and who knows, another cruise I might be able to get other free treatments!

Now to sleep away this illness . . .


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

AllisonAllison
Allison

Club O2
Troy & MeTroy & Me
Troy & Me

Club O2


13th January 2007

Oh I love that you get to see these bands. That's awesome. I bet the cruise is crazy. SOOOO fun Netter. Glad you're settled into your new room. It'll all be home-y soon! Miss you. Keep the updates coming. LOVED the pics. Pics of your room perhaps? A little virtual tour?
15th January 2007

despite graduating from high school 6 years ago, better than ezra is still my favourite brand of faux teen angst. so jealous! - jd.
15th January 2007

missing you!
Hey Netter, Sounds like you are having an amzing time -- even despite the constant basedrum! I've been thinking about you lately, wondering how things are going so I thought I'd check in and make sure it was as great as I imagined. Tanzania is amazing, and the experience is awesome... I'm so glad I'm here, I miss our rehearsals though but I've been doing plenty of my own directing -- working with out of school youth in the fight against AIDS. If you have the time, feel free to peruse my blog http://backpackers-post.blogspot.com . Anyway, keep in touch. Love you. xoxo jordi

Tot: 0.578s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 29; qc: 139; dbt: 0.4045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb