And It's Official . . .


Advertisement
Published: February 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I am a certified open water diver!

Oh, I can’t believe it’s done, I did it. I mostly just feel relieved right now! Relieved to have it complete, done, out of the way. I’m free to enjoy St. Thomas as I please when I return here, and free to dive in any of the ports!

I am also very pleased with myself. No panic today. No fear. Jay (my instructor) and I fired through all of my skills. My ears were troublesome today and my mask was irritating me, but my skills were perfect and my nerves were too.

After “Open Water 3" (our 2nd dive of the day), as we came out of the water, I said I feel a million times better. Jay could see it. When I snorkeled in Barbados last week, I was surprised how much easier it was with my scuba knowledge. But I think also having been in the water since my last dive helped keep it all familiar, even if it was only snorkeling.

“Open Water 4" (3rd dive of the day), we only had one skill left and the rest of the time we just dove around. The reef is so familiar to me now; I’ve kind of learned my way around, at least the standard route.

Lots of fish again. I wish I knew what kinds they were so I could share. But I can name colours?!? Big silvery yellow ones are always close to shore. Out farther but nearer the surface are black and yellow striped ones. Then down in the reef, there are fewer schools of fish, more individual ones, but so many different colours. Terri’s favourite from our first dive were out today - a fish that’s a bright rainbow of colours. My favourite ones are a deep purple with black.

So many colours down there!

Today’s highlight - a barracuda! Jay said later that it usually lets him pet it, but when it came near him today, it bared it’s teeth. We of course stayed clear. And I was immediately so proud of myself at controlling my buoyancy and movement slowly, gracefully and completely with my lungs. The barracuda swam underneath me and off into the darker waters. I love moments when I realize I’ve picked up skills!

As a note, if anyone reading this is looking to go diving in St. Thomas, I can’t say enough about how great the crew at Coki Beach Dive Club are. Of course, I’m partial to my instructor, Jay, for his easy-going and laid-back style, his patience with my nerves but his wealth of knowledge. Big recommendation for CBDC!

I am so tired now. But I’m happy. The diving also really helped to clear my mind, lift my spirit and cleanse my soul. I’ve been fighting sadness about this being my final week on the Destiny. But the diving today was exactly what I needed.

And so, it’s official. A big life-list item has been accomplished.

And I can’t stop smiling.

Advertisement



12th February 2008

Congrats....J-Nettie
Congratulations on your diving certification!!! You should be proud of yourself. I too am proud of your accomplishment. I know someone in this house that is just droooling over your diving/snorkelling excursions...the queen of water herself, kels. Any big plans for your b-day?? Have a great 27th birthday on Saturday. Thumbs up....x0x0 Aunt R
12th February 2008

CONGRATULATIONS!
I know how big a deal it is to get certified! Congrats! If you have time in any of the ports to do an adventure dive (these lead towards Advanced certification) I HIGHLY recommend it! The buoyancy proficiency (can't remember the proper name) is a great one for further developing those skills. I also did deep, navigation, night dive, drift dive, and fish identification. You'd love Fish ID, as you get an underwater clipboard and Fish ID card, and you get to write down all the types you see! Really helps for future reference and when writing down fun fish in your dive logbook. Also, you can check these via google images but I think the big silvery yellow ones may be yellow-tailed snappers. Black and yellow stripped may be sergeant majors. The rainbow ones are one of my favs. Stoplight parrot fish - male, as the female parrot fish are red and white. Not sure but those are my guesses. SO proud of ya Netter! Way to go!
13th February 2008

GO YOUUUU
i think you're fantastic.
14th February 2008

Yeah Jeanettie!
Great job Jeanette, diving isn't easy....Love your dive pics too!! Keep up the dives cuz refresher courses are a pain. Wish I were divin' w/ u. Love Alexis
16th February 2008

Happiest of Birthdays!
Happy Birthday Netter! Hope it's a fantabulous day :)
16th February 2008

PS
HAPPPPYYY BIRTHHDAYYYYY
22nd February 2008

AMAZING
I AM SOOOOOO PROUD OF YOU NETTER. I remember us talking about this sitting in the CTC, and then on the beach, and then on crew deck and then in the jungle and then and then.... I am so happy to see that you are striving for your lifes goals. I would have loved to be there to do this with you. I remember when we went Ziplining and the soul searching we had to do to sail over the canopy without wanting to loose control. I can't wait for you to come back when we can share all of these little stories. Hugs, Brooks.

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.04s; cc: 14; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb