A Seriously Easy-Going Afternoon . . .


Advertisement
Published: February 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Apparently one tour wasn’t enough for me today, because after going on the snorkeling tour with my teens, I went back to the ship, showered, ate and left again. This time, I went out with Logan and Allison and we headed to The Malibu Rum Distillery and Beach Club. To our surprise, the distillery was likely within a decent walking distance from the ship, just in the opposite direction from where we usually go. We got there, flashed our crew IDs and were given free tour passes, a free drink and free beach access. Moments like that, we love being crew members!

We had awhile to wait before the tour, so we went out the beach. It was beautiful. Lovely white sand, bright blue water and the sun was shining - and intensely so! As we lay there, baking even with our extremely high SPF sunscreen, I thought of everyone back home cold in the snow and felt badly for even considering complaining that it was hot! But wow, was it ever. The sort of heat that starts to make your head spin. So, into the water we went. So perfectly refreshing. The ocean never felt so good! We spent some time going back & forth between the water and the sand until it was time for the distillery tour.

The tour wasn’t quite as exciting as I’d hoped, but learned some interesting things nonetheless. Like that all Malibu rum is made right there in Barbados. But other than the little bit bottled there to supply the Caribbean islands, all of the rest of the rum is shipped in giant metal vats to their bottling factories - one in Scotland and one in CANADA! The Scottish one supplies Europe and the Canadian one North America. Not sure which one delivers to the rest of the world, but that was interesting to learn.

The one room we went into, The Ageing Room, was piled high with barrels of rum. They sit there to go through the evaporation process. The entire room smelled of rum. But it was lovely. Not like when you smell a glass of rum and it smells really strongly and sort of stings. More like a nice scent, like something flavoured with rum. I loved it!

Of course at the end was a rum taste-test. Now, I was not up for drinking, but I was convinced to try. The regular rum (I forget the brand that they also make there - sorry) was too much for me and I couldn’t do it. But I tried the Malibu and was shocked that I like it! I don’t like coconut or coconut flavoured things so I’ve always sort of turned my nose up at Malibu. I think also because it’s usually mixed with cola or juices that I’m allergic to. But I thought it tasted like white freezies! So I may now just become a fan of Malibu.

After the tour, we headed back for some more beach time. Logan decided to spend the whole whopping $8 on a bottle of Malibu so we could just sit on the beach and have a drink. I mean, one bottle for $8 compared to an already cheap price of $3 for a mixed drink . . . sometimes the low prices for drinks down here just baffles me. So more sun, more sand and more ocean. Until it was time to head back to the ship . . .

Where, after two tour in one day and a full night of work ahead of me, I took a much needed nap!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



9th February 2008

Natural Model!
You should send your shots into Malibu. I'm sure they'd use 'em ;)
11th February 2008

I'm jealous
Sounds so good. Especially the weather. I am leaving on March 8th and can't wait to get away from this cold. I hate winter. I guess you are enjoying your ship.
16th March 2008

Thanks
cruising on the destiny in april def going to go to the malibu beach

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb