I'm in the Caribbean!!


Advertisement
Published: September 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, I've finally made it here after a VERY VERY long journey (2 nights in a row sleeping in airports...ick). I don't think I knew exactly what I was getting myself into when I came here. I think mostly I wasn't prepared for the weather, and how TROPICAL it is here. Just coming from Puerto Rico to here, our small 8 passenger plane had to wait while a humongous iguana crossed the runway. But it was a great plane ride because I could see out the front window and on both sides for a good caribbean aerial view. And even though St. Croix is the biggest of the 3 U.S. Virgin Islands (only 28 miles by 7 miles), it still doesn't seem that big. My thoughts exactly while on the decent to the island: "Well, here's where I'm gonna be for the next 3 months." Good thing I'm adaptable 😊

I arrived on the farm fine (and after getting a tour I progressed to sleep 18 of the following 24 hours). It's currently a slow period, so there's about 6 of us here altogether, when just a couple months ago there were about 25. This is because a lot of the summer programs ended and the crops were harvested. But right now it's nearing the end of fruit season (there are TONS of delicious mangos here!) and getting time to start planting again. When I thought of "tropical farm", I did not have a clue what it would be like to live on one. I'm used to California where the fields are flat and the weather is more mediterranean. It is definitely HUMID here, I'm living in tropical rainforest I feel like, and there are hills all around me. When I first got a tour of some of the gardens I could not tell the difference between the intentional plants and the forest because everything looks pretty similar. It's more agroforestry here, which I'm interested in. There's not much farm work to be done as of now, especially since there aren't any main supervisors here yet - it's mostly just the apprentices (people who stay for about a year) and me (I'm the only intern here). It seems that everyone else here is in their mid or late 20's and male, so I'm a little outnumbered. I thought this other girl Ashley was going to stay, but she left yesterday. However, the 4 or so guys here already seem like big brothers, kind of watching out for me. And when Amy returns (the woman I'll be working with) on the 20th, I'll have more female company.

However, I did get the job of feeding the chickens (36 of them), the rabbits (7 of them...they're being raised for meat), and the cats (3 or so). I already messed up because I forgot to close the chicken cage last night (we went out last night to watch a band and get a drink) and I woke up remembering this morning at 6:30am but the chickens had beaten me up and already pooped all over the community center/kitchen (in which they are NOT allowed). Luckily no one is up yet and hopefully the water marks on the floors will dry soon where I wiped it up). There are also 3 goats who graze in the orchard (2 are VERY friendly as they were raised by one of the apprentices, they're always jumping in the air and butting heads against your leg like a cat. And there's the farm dog, Sabalou. I'm the only vegan here, but that might change as there is an overabundance of eggs and I know where they're coming from. The kitchen reminds me a bit of Lothlorien (the coop I live in in Berkeley) in terms of food (nutritional yeast, granola, peanutbutter galore!) and the make-it-yourself-clean-it-yourself policy.

ALL the buildings are open air here, even the showers. It's pretty neat to be showering and watching the forest while the chickens are wandering. This also means we have to be a little careful with food, because the ants are crazy here...literally they are called "crazy ants" because they are crazy and everywhere. I seriously don't think I'll be actually CLEAN until I come back to CA because everywhere you step you are stepping in ants, so no matter what, you'll always have squished ant guts in between your toes because they crawl up your legs and inside your shoes and then you step on them...unfortunately. And because it's so humid here, you only where your tevas or flip flops. I wish I brought more shorts, and those 3 pairs of jeans won't get used. I'm sleeping in a cabana. There are about 6 of them and they have 2 bunk beds each, although we all get one to ourselves. You only need a sheet at night over your head, maybe for fending off the mosquitos. The first night wasn't bad, but last night was TERRIBLE, but I realized when I woke up that Nate, who crashed on my top bunk last night (just got back after 5 weeks and didn't have a place to sleep yet) left the door open. And yep, there are ants in the cabana, on my clothes, a few in my bed. I'm tolerating pretty fine so far, luckily they don't bite or I think I really would go crazy.

A little history for y'all: this was the first place Christopher Columbus landed on his second voyage to the Americas and he called this area the place of 10,000 virgins (hence the name, Virgin Islands). However, he then carried on to rape and pillage and now there are no original Tahi indians left, although some words still exist, like "barbeque." This island has flown about 7 different flags, I think the most prevalent being the danish who ran about 200 sugar mills all across the island, many of them still standing because the walls are 3 feet thick. They are few of what survived the 1989 hurricane which left not a green leaf in sight when it was through because it stayed over the island about 11 hours (don't worry mom, there haven't been any in awhile...and everyone has hurricane shelters here). So as a result, all of the forest surrounding me is pretty young, and not very tall. The only trees that survived were the huge baobao trees, a special tree to many people as a source of food and fiber, and a gathering place for slaves and later for community meetings. This farm is also unique as one of the 2 certified organic farms. There used to be more farms in general but when the refinery opened (HUGE, it's like a big city at night) it took a lot of jobs away from farming.

There are 2 towns here on opposite sides, Christiansted on the east, and Frederiksted on the west - C-sted and F-sted for short. I got off the farm yesterday to visit C-sted, apparantly the more touristy town. It was pretty nice to be in civilization without ants. I dipped my feet in the water at the boardwalk and can't wait to go to the beach, it's so warm! But even so, it's not THAT much civilization here, not like a big city or anything. Everyone knows each other and it's polite to always greet someone. At night when someone says "good night" to you, it actually means "hello". A lot of people speak a little Creole, and talk with heavy accents, a little like jamaicans. Reggae is HUGE here, I think I might go a show tomorrow actually - will update later about it. Also cars are the same here, with drivers seated on the left side, but everyone drives here on the left side of the road, instead of the right. I'll need to keep reminding myself if I ever take the farm truck out. Oh, and I don't think I'll get to do much salsa dancing here (quite unforunately...).

I'm not quite sure what my routine will be like yet, I think I'll just do whatever needs to be done. I think I'll be taking over Kay's job of doing the greenhouse and seedlings work (she's leaving in a week or so...and then I'll be the only female intern/apprentice). Also every 2 weeks we host "slow down" dinners (like the slow food movement) which makes the farm some money and brings the community together. I'll be helping the cook and waiting tables for it next weekend. Well, I think that's all for now...one of these mangos nearby looks good for the eatin. Hey I'd love to hear from you all back home too. I think email would probably be the best way as there's no phone reception on the farm and we don't get mail directly here (have to go pick it up in town). Anyways, look forward to hearing from you, and stay posted! Lots of love,

mon







Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb