Leaving Provo


Advertisement
Published: April 10th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I awoke at 7am and went to the beach for some more snorkeling before I would leave this beautiful island. The water was very clear and calm. I stayed out there for about two hours before returning to the hotel to get ready for my trek to the airport. I caught a taxi to the airport at around 11am and was there within 15 minutes. Check in and security was quick and painless. The airport is very small and there is not much to do except sit and wait. The time flew by though, and soon I was on Delta 510 to Atlanta. I was in coach seat 26D on the MD-88 aircraft. There was nobody sitting next to me so I had lots of room to stretch out. I admired the view of the clear blue water that went on for miles and miles, as we climb out of PLS.

I spent the 2 hours and 30 minutes flight listening to music on the ipod. The flight was smooth and routine, except for a small patch of storms over Northern Florida that caused a few bumps. We arrived into Atlanta early, at about 4:30pm and it was a quick taxi over to the gate. Customs and Immigration was quick and easy, except the guy was suspicious of my daytrip, even after I explained where I worked. Oh well, he let me go on and I headed into the airport for my connection to Indianapolis.

The airport was a mess with delayed flights and I had doubts about whether I would make it out that evening. I went to my gate and sat down to play the nonrevenue waiting game. It was looking positive as I was 7 on the list with 15 seats showing open.

We were scheduled to depart at 6:45pm but did not get on the plane until 7:15pm. What happened next was interesting. The airport went on a ground stop due to air traffic control. We sat on the ground for quite a bit. They finally had to give people the option to deplane because of a new law. About 30 people did leave the plane and were told to stay close by in case we were to leave. It was not even 5 minutes later that we were cleared to leave and they now had to round the people up. They could not find everyone and so they shut the door and left. We then went back to the gate a few minutes later to get the rest. They were lucky. Now we had to go wait in line to take off and we were about 15th in line. We finally were in the air at 9:45pm and it was a quick one hour flight to Indy. I was happy to get back home finally!

I enjoyed the trip to Provo and will definitely return!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.037s; cc: 9; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0203s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb