Arriving in Provo


Advertisement
Published: April 10th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I had been trying to visit the Turks and Caicos for a few weeks now but full flights kept it from happening. I had a hotel credit at the Turtle Cove Inn that I had to use or lose by this week, since our flight goes to seasonal status on Saturday, which means there will only be one flight a week until the winter time.

I tried to get on a 6am flight to Atlanta but it was full. No big deal, as there is a flight at 7:10am that will get me there in time. I cleared for that flight and was seated in first class seat 1C. It was a quick flight from Indianapolis to Atlanta, aboard Delta flight 687, an MD-88 aircraft.

Once in Atlanta, I had about an hour to connect. The Provo flight was wide open for stand-by travel, so no worries there.

I cleared for business class seat 2D on this flight which was Delta 509 to Providenciales(PLS), and another MD-88 aircraft. We departed Atlanta at 9:40am and it was just over two hours of flying. It was a breakfast flight, so I had some cereal, yogurt, and fresh fruit to eat. We arrived into Provo about 20 minutes early, at 12:30pm. Customs and Immigration was a breeze and I was out to the curbside in less than 5 minutes. I caught a taxi to my hotel and was there just after 1pm. After checking in, I immediately headed for the beach. It was about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The water was so clear and warm. I actually saw quite a few different fish in the reef and even saw a sting ray.

I must say it was some of the best snorkeling I have experienced. I snorkeled at the Bight Beach for a couple of hours and then went back to the room and rested.

After resting a couple of hours, it was back to the beach for more snorkeling! I stayed out until the sunset.

Went back to the hotel and had dinner at a place called Sharkbite. It was not bad. Good service, but ok food.

I have found the people here to be so very friendly and great to talk to. That has definitely been the highlight so far.

It has been a long and exhausting day and so I will sleep. I will get some more snorkel time in the morning and then head back to PLS airport for the afternoon flight home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0625s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb