1st Day


Advertisement
Published: April 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

In the poolIn the poolIn the pool

having great fun!
I woke up really early, about 5.30am, because we were still English time and these god dam national birds!! I was well tired! We waited till about 6am, when I saw a frightening sight. That Gecko had escaped into our room! It ran across the ceiling and I was really freaked out. I ran upstairs and sat in the living room for a bit until we used our rations to have breakfast. The view was spectacular across the bay. Just after breakfast I got another shock as Cleo, the resident dog leapt into our living room and starting jumping up. I thought she was a stray, but later remembered that she lived with the owners.

Then I realised that all the dogs I had seen the night before do have owners, but are just the self- walking type. Next I had a shower in the outdoor shower. It was different and very strange experience. I found a leaf in the shower which I picked up to chuck out, and I found a tiny baby lizard underneath it. I picked it up and took it onto the veranda where Mum and Dad were sitting, too show them. Suddenly, it's tail
Practice snorkelPractice snorkelPractice snorkel

everyone has to do their pool practice !
just fell off, and it was wiggling for ages. Apparently it as reflexes! It was really disgusting! Next we walked down too the Bloody Bay beach and had a swim on the Caribbean Sea. It was a bit murky, not exactly your average crystal clear Caribbean sea, but then again it is where the river runs into the sea, so I didn't really care. It was so warm, like a bath!

After that refreshing dip, we came back to the house. After that we had a look round town too see if we could find a shop or supermarket. Basically everywhere was closed! Eventually we found a little roadside corner shop - type kiosk where they sold bread, milk, cereal, fruit juice and sweets. So we bought what we needed and drove home which took about ½ an hour. Next I tested out the pool! It was lovely and warm, but not quite as warm as the sea. It's quite small, but from underwater it looks massive! I tested out my snorkel gear too. To eat, we went to the riverside restaurant. I had traditional creole, which is chicken in a barbecue sauce, or shrimp, or fish with a noodle dish, a vegetable dish, a potato dish, a rice dish, a beans dish,, but it was really quite tasty. I had this with 'Fruta', a tasty fruit drink which comes in many different varieties. I had orange. When we got back to the ranch we spotted some fireflies/ lantern bugs. It was like our own personal light show. After that we went to bed ( at about 7.30pm we were soooo tired!!)


Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0726s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb