BAD DAY 3


Advertisement
Published: August 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

My camera falling out of my bag and into the ocean has put a big cloud over the whole day. This just doesn't seem to be my trip when it comes to cameras. I didn't loose the pics on my memory card, but I can't get it to take any new photos. Please join me in praying for a miraculous healing (i'm not kidding). Well, I made it to Bequia. My flight arrived at St V about 5:45. By the time I made it through customs, my bag was waiting for me. I rushed out the door and into a taxi. By then it was about 7 min. till the last ferry left. My driver assured me he could get me there before 6:00. We made it to the ferry dock with about 30 seconds to spare. As I aproached the ferry it started to move so I broke into a sprint. One of the locals there laughed and said "no hurry, mon". As it turned out, they were still loading and the ferry didn't leave for another 30 minutes.

We made the 1 hour crossing mostly under the moonlight. It was strange approaching Bequia at night. There were no twinkling lights like there were on St Vincent behind us. It was kind of like a scene from King Kong-not the Jack Black version, But the one with Jessica Lang and Jeff Bridges. All that was missing was the spooky drums. It wasn't until we were nearly in the harbor that you could see a few lights shining from the windows of houses.

Arriving at a new place at night is a bit disorienting, so I went straight to my apartment where I met Loretta, the house keeper. She showed me around the place (which didn't take long). She had stocked the fridge with 6 eggs, a carton of 3 1/2% milk (strong stuff), a loaf of bread, a stick of butter and a bottle of water. Not wanting to venture out in the dark, I scrambles some eggs and toasted some bread with butter. I put on some music to fill the air with something while I unpacked. Well, I say I unpacked, but there is no closet, so much of my stuff had to stay in the bag. After dinner, I gave in to temptation and turned on the TV. It was kind of nice. It made me feel more at home.

The apartment has no airconditioning, so I carry the floor fan around with me everywhere I go. It's not bad as long as the fan is on you. That night I slept well and was awakened by the Rooster Alarm at 5:45. I got up and got ready for my first look at Bequia in the daylight. I paused at the double french doors that lead out my bedroom to the balcony. This was it the moment of truth. I open the doors tois see the sun just peeking over the other side of friendship bay. I got dressed and headed into town about 7:10. Going down the rollercoaster like driveway is like taking your life into your own hands. I'm passed by several of the "Dollar Buses" that act as the local public transportation, but I elect rather to walk to get a better feel for the place. The dollar buses are a wonderful thing. You would never have guessed that you can fit 18 adults and a baby into a toyota mini van. We all got to know each other very well. Up and down the mountain and 45 minutes later I'm on the Belmont Walkway. A beachfront sidewalk that connects a few of the hotels and restaurants. I stop in at the Gingerbread house for fresh banana cake and a bottle of water. Appearantly this is the gathering place for folks waiting for the dive boats. When I say gathering place I mean half a dozen people. Things are really slow here on Bequia. Nothing big-time about it.

After breakfast I took a walk through town. Also, didn't take long. I went to the bank and exchange my dollars for Eastern Caribbean dollars. $1 us = $2.67 EC. I visited the local fruit market and was introduced to "The President" and Jimmy "the vise-president", two rasta looking guys who wanted to be sure I knew how fresh their fruits and vegitables were. Jimmy gave me a free sample of his passion fruit. Very sweet. It would be good to make a kind of passion fruit lemon-ade. I picked up a few things at the grocery store. The coconut cream cookies are to die for. I must get some more tomorrow. After looking the town over I went back "home" to deposit my groceries and went down to Friendship bay for a swim. That's when the unfortunate camera accident occured. I was so paniced that I rushed home and put the camera under the fan for the rest of the day. Leaving the camera on it's death bed I went down to Princess Margaret beach. So named because the Princess herself swam here once years ago. I don't know if she actually swam or she had one of her people do the swimming for her. Either way it made quite an impression on the island and the beach was re-named in her honor. I dought that they'll be renaming any beaches in my honor. (sigh)

That evening I ventured down the street about a half mile to the Blue Tropic restaurant at the Bequia Beach Hotel. This place is very new and very nice, but also very deserted. It looks like the "If you build it- they will come" philosophy hasn't caught on. The place is very nice. It's a shame no one is taking advantage of it. I'm greeted by Stephon and since I'm the only one there, I pretty much have my pick of tables. I decide to sit outside at a table near a potted palm. A nice young girl comes to take my order. I decide on Conch fritters and a Ceasar salad. What I am brought is Curried Conch and a cucumber salad. Appearantly eventhough we're both speaking english, there's still a language barrier. I happily make due with what i'm brought and dig in. The conch was good, but the salad didn't do much for me. While I'm eating another 20 something couple arrives and it starts to drizzle a bit. I cash out and head back to my house. Walking home at night, I'm a little nervous. I really don't know why, because everyone here has been nothing but polite. I hate the fact that I'm nervous just because I'm in a strange place. To all of them "I" am the stranger. The obvious outsider. I wonder if they're all talking about the "Bald American".
Everywhere I go I smile and say a word of greeting to the people I see and they are always friendly to respond.

I spend the rest of the evening watching TV and writing in my journal. 9:45 and I'm off to bed.

Till tomorrow,
David

Advertisement



1st August 2008

things will get better
David, I'm so sorry about the camera and the air conditioner, coverter, etc. I think I probably would have just set down and cried. As though that would fix everything. I was so looking forward to pictures. Maybe you can get us some. Wish you could get another camera or get that one dried out. Things have got to get better for you. I just pray that you are careful, watchful and safe. If it becomes...not fun....come home. Enjoying your journal entries...just praying for better days for you. Terry
1st August 2008

RE: Bad Day
What could be more unfortunate than losing your camera on a trip of a lifetime like this one! The saltwater will probably do a number on that camera. Hope you can figure out something so you can get more pics on this trip. Am enjoying your blogs. Keep it up. See you in 3 weeks, Loretta
1st August 2008

Hello From Here
Dog says Hello. Tom wishes you could change places. Sorry to hear about your camera,we really didn't want to see pictures anyway. Just kidding. Send cookies. Hey Neil says please do not come back with a any new menu ideas. Bye for now. The Crew

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb