I've been to the Darien Gap!


Advertisement
Panama's flag
Central America Caribbean » Panama » Panamá » Panama City
December 30th 2005
Published: May 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Cartagena colonial townCartagena colonial townCartagena colonial town

The colonial buildings are really spesh
Christmas in Cartagena was great but then again so was christmas eve and boxing day. Without friends and family it was just another good day on the road. The German owner of the Casa Viena hostel didn´t make a fuss, it was business as usual but a good business so I was glad to be in his hostel. Cartagena provided me with a wealth of new information to assist in the next stage of my travels, and serves as a half way house between South America and Central America. The colonial town is also a superb tourist destination and provided for very picturesque photos.

I'd hoped to secure a spot on a sail boat, dear reader, with the plan being to arrive in Panama City following a five day voyage via the San Blas islands. However boat skippers and their crew deserve a christmas turkey too, so that option was ruled out. Plan B was to fly but travellers at the hostel who had been in Panama informed me of the Colombian route for workers going to and fro between the countries, and for half the price of flying direct. This led inevitably to Plan C, which provided for a
Darien GapDarien GapDarien Gap

This is right on the border with Panama and definitely one of the most out there travel destinations in my experience
wonderful travel experience that was totally off the beaten track, in fact it wasn´t even mentioned in the guide book! During this out there adventure I didn´t meet a western traveller for three days. The first day involved a bus south to Monteria where I stayed overnight. It was a fun experience and the local people were kind and helpful. The second day saw me up early for a 4:00am departure on another bus to the Colombian port town of Turbo on the Darien gulf, and predominantly on unsealed roads. From there I organized a seat on a speedboat voyage across the gulf and along the Darien coast to the Colombian border town of Capurgana, which I was amazed to learn is a caribbean holiday destination for wealthy Colombians. They fly in for holidays in the sun and it's a really impressive little resort town. I had not imagined resort towns on the Darien coast in my wildest dreams, and Capurgana was certainly a revelation.

The boat trip was an interesting experience. There are only two speeds in South America, those being either engine off or totally cranked to the max! Our speedboat skipper was no exception as he fired up the monster twin 200bhp engines, but unfortunately on this occasion the seas were high. The two hours on board were close to the toughest travelling I've experienced, and the reasons will become quickly apparent. When the speedboat bottomed out after cresting a large wave, the impact felt like jumping onto concrete from a height of twenty feet for my neck and back. Also, those of you familiar with the noble game of cricket would know there is nothing more ignoble than being doubled over by a blow to the protector while batting. Imagine multiplying that feeling by a hundred impacts, the memory still brings a tear to the eye! My fellow latino passengers were very supportive and obviously more hardy than me, as I tried to cope by adopting the brace position and gripping the seat in front of me. A safe arrival ensued but I had blisters on my hands, and an upper body that felt like I'd been Mike Tyson's punching bag for the next few days.

After another shorter (and mercifully slower) boat trip we crossed into Panama. We went through border formalities, which were vigorous to say the least on the Panamanian side.
Panama CanalPanama CanalPanama Canal

Super efficient, super profitable, and now run by the Panamanians
I've never been asked so many questions at a border, and really felt for my Peruvian travel companion because at least I kept my pants on this time, unlike his experience. From there we spent the night in the border town of Puerto Obaldia, and then we booked on a one hour flight to Panama City the next morning. The flight was on a thirty seat propellor plane and was really enjoyable. I was fortunate to be located in the front seat, and the sliding door to the cockpit was left open by the pilots. So I craned my neck around in order to witness the take off and we became airborne just before we ran out of runway, in fact I thought we were going to end up in the drink for a fleeting moment! I also craned my head around to witness the landing as we came in to Panama airport. It was a very cool experience and definitely a first for me.

So then how to describe my first impressions of Panama City ... modern, wealthy, with huge American SUVs and skyscrapers everywhere, and of course home to the Panama Canal which is one of the eight modern wonders of the world. I went for an obligatory visit to the canal with two American guys from the hostel. We saw huge tankers being efficiently transported through by the Panamanians, and it was a wonderful visual experience. Panama gained full control of the canal from the United States in 1998 and they are doing a great job in continuing to work the canal efficiently, and this remarkable feat of engineering has been operational since 1913. The charge for a single tanker is sixty thousand dollars to sail through the canal, and the Panamanians move upwards of twenty ships per day. Now that's some serious dollars being raked in every day ... Ka-ching -- ba da bing ba da bing! Fortunately I found the excellent Mamallena hostel to bunk down in and it was packed with nice travellers, although now I really feel I'm the new kid on the block. When my new traveller friends talk about famous tourist attractions in Central America it sounds like they're talking about Mars at times, but I'm a quick learner and it's definitely great to be here!

In summary, Panama City strikes me as an ordered and wealthy city, with friendly people and good food at surprisingly cheap prices. As a matter of fact the country reminds me of the famous travel saying, basically all of you should be here now!


A loving heart is the beginning of all knowledge." Thomas Carlyle


As I continue my travels, until next time it´s signing off for now

Tom

Note: Feel free to post comments on this site, or click on the subscribe button for notification of upcoming travel journals


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Miraflores locksMiraflores locks
Miraflores locks

The main locks on the Panama Canal


2nd January 2006

Panama city
Glad to hear you passed through Colombia and came to Panama we have been here for a while now. If you are still here we should see eachother write a email so we know. Pontus and Camilla
2nd January 2006

2006
Hi Tom wishing you all the best for 2006 and good luck with your travel from down under Cairns Klaus & Lyn!!!!!!!!!!!
2nd January 2006

Happy New Year
.....amazing trip Tom, enjoy yourself, the best for 2006.
2nd January 2006

Happy New Year
Hi Tom, Happy New Year! I am so impressed that you made from Colombia to Panama by land - one of the world's great trips and something I never managed to do. Have fun in Central America. Check out San Juan del Sur in Nicaragua (relaxing beach town), and Panajachel in Gautemala (on the lake). Buen Viaje, amigo!
18th April 2013

Recent documentary
Here is a another account of crossing the Darien Gap: Crossing the Darién Gap (2013). That documentary was filmed on March 2013. Happy travels!

Tot: 0.518s; Tpl: 0.039s; cc: 39; qc: 163; dbt: 0.2608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb