The rasta cat said "Bless-ed man"


Advertisement
Published: June 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Rocking J's hostelRocking J's hostelRocking J's hostel

The legendary hammock hostel.
The irresistible lure of the caribbean cast a further spell on me, and has led to a change of plans to see in the new year. The original plan was to spend New Years Eve in Panama City, but I found myself on a bus the night before through the Panamanian countryside and on to Changuinola. I met a Dutch couple and a Costa Rican on the bus, and we shared the cost of a taxi to the border with Costa Rica. An uneventful border crossing ensued and we had to wait a couple of hours for a connecting bus. After an hour of further travel I caught a transport truck to complete the journey, and was thrilled to be back on the caribbean coast just in time for New Years Eve.

Puerto Viejo is a beautiful seaside resort town, dear reader, that was absolutely heaving for the new year, and featured fireworks on the beach. I stayed at a quality hostel in the heart of town for the first night and then moved closer to the beach the next day. This is the legendary Rocking J's hammock hostel, and the place was jam packed with holidaying North Americans. I
Puerto Viejo beachPuerto Viejo beachPuerto Viejo beach

Views from right outside the hostel Rocking J's
decided to pay for my own house for the first time on this trip, well tent anyway, and had a very relaxing stay. The last month has contained some hard travelling, so it's been great to lie on the beach with a good book, walk the jungle trail along the foreshore, and swim for so long in the warm ocean I thought I was going to turn into a fish! It's a wonderfully relaxing feeling to lose yourself in a beach resort and go troppo for a time. Surfers should also note that Puerto Viejo is home to the most famous break in Costa Rica, the salsa brava.

Costa Rica, and Puerto Viejo in particular is really an oasis and reminds me very much of Bali. The tourism infrastructure is superb, the prices are a little higher than other Latin American countries but still reasonable, and the people are warm and friendly. The creed of the Ticos is Pura Vida - pure life. It's interesting to note the Costa Rican army was abolished under the constitution after a period of civil war in 1949, and Costa Rica has grown to be the most prosperous and peaceful nation in Central America as well as the most popular tourist destination. Far be it for me as a humble travel blogger to launch into a political statement, so I will leave you to arrive at your own conclusion. I met an American guy at the hostel (or should I say resort) who took me into town to another superb local pizza restaurant, where slices cost the princely sum of one dollar. If you keep your ear to the ground you can dine out on delicious pizza in Latin America for next to nothing.

Predictably I was back at the same pizza restaurant for dinner the next night. A customer asked one of the rasta brothers working there how he was in spanish and the reply came back in english "Bless-ed man, working working". I really dig those rasta cats man, they are altogether too cool! I decided to follow the jungle trail back to the hostel and let the sounds of the sea and the infrequent lights from the villas guide me along the way. I fell in a ditch in the dark when I missed a boardwalk, and got bitten by some seriously angry ants who must only clock on
Puerto Viejo trailPuerto Viejo trailPuerto Viejo trail

This is the trail I took home at night!
for the night shift! But the walk gave me a chance to reflect on how I was feeling about my trip so far... And the verdict: Bless-ed, bless-ed and not working!

Although it was difficult to leave the reggae rhythms of the caribbean coast *again* I jumped on a bus to San Jose, the capital of Costa Rica. The city strikes me as quite prosperous and not too frenetic, with the ever present latino central plaza as a feature. Once again I have to comment on the beauty of the latina Ticas, and walking the plazas in San Jose is a real eye opener. As the saying goes, basically all of you should be here now!


Music is religion for me. There'll be music in the hereafter, too." Jimi Hendrix


As I continue my travels, until next time its signing off for now

Tom

Note: Feel free to post comments on this site, or click on the subscribe button for notification of upcoming travel journals


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



5th January 2006

Bless-ed!
Ho-ho, he's in Central America and he's relaxed! Much less stressful than Colombia, eh? Enjoy the rest of it!
6th January 2006

Bless_ed
Blessed be, where are the angles, it sounds like you've found heaven. Life is good, live it to the full and remember you never can have too much dance, dance dance.
6th January 2006

Keep at it
Hey Tom, we've finished our South America stint now so we're reliant on you to keep up the pura vida adventures ...which you're doing well at :-) Cheers, Tuyet & Steve
7th January 2006

Have a look at you!
Mate, you are having a cracking time aren't ya...I'm over here in Banff,Canada freezing my ass off.Sounds like SA was just the warm up trip for you!Cheers,J.
9th January 2006

Oh Tom, I am still so happy to be home in NZ but when I read of your adventures the lust for buses, dust, salsa, latino men comes rushing back. keep up the fun and I will catch you in Oz in July perhaps. love Jade
10th January 2006

Central America sounds like one hell of a nice place to be in from the descriptions you have been giving us. Full marks by the way for your excellent commentaries.

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb