Overbooked flights


Advertisement
Panama's flag
Central America Caribbean » Panama » Panamá » Panama City
December 19th 2007
Published: December 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Don´t they suck?!!! So yesterday, after more Panamanian Taxi-Trauma, I finally get to the airport only to be told the flight is overbooked, and I´ll have to wait for the same flight the next day. So they taxi´d me back to the City Centre and put me up in th 5 star Riande Continental. Yay.

I felt so out of place, a scruffy traveller in an expensive hotel. Though, to be honest, if I´d been paying for it myself I would have been a little disappointed, I think. And the Christmas pipe organ in the lobby is possibly the world´s most irritating thing. Ever.

Which brings in a nice little topic. Christmas here in Panama is HUGE. There are brightly lit full size nativity displays everywhere, Christmas music wherever you go, and even big lit-up Coca-Cola trucks driving around together (playing music, of course) just like in the advert. There´s no escape.

Not even in Panama Viejo. The original site of the city, before a rampaging Welsh pirate named Henry Morgan went about rampaging, still lies in ruins some way out of the city centre. It was quite interresting to go and see, but, as always, there was
Huh?!Huh?!Huh?!

In Casco Viejo
a giant nativity scene in front of the old Catherdral tower. Ah well, photos to follow, again. This computer DOES have USB, but my cable is in my bag in storage at the hotel until my taxi comes. Bah.

So, hopefully my next report will be from Buenos Aires. I have my boarding pass already, so things SHOULD be OK. I just need to make sure I don´t lose my hostel reservation....




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Old ChurchOld Church
Old Church

In Panama Viejo
Old and NewOld and New
Old and New

In Panama Viejo
CathedralCathedral
Cathedral

In Panama Viejo
NativityNativity
Nativity

By the cathedral


Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0905s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb