A nice little mountain town!


Advertisement
Published: March 3rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

First things first.
1- Mumsy: Yesterday and the day before in David we stayed at a hostel called The Purple House Hostel. The building painted purple, everything inside purple, the dishes the shower curtain, all the sheets, all the decorations! You would have fallen in love! It just made me smile because I know you could have fit right in with all the many shades.

Back to our regularly schedualed program...
The three amigos set out today, getting a pissy start. Last night we all agreed on the 8:30 AM bus instead of the 7:30 because we would have to get up at 6. But, this morning Maja wakes us up at 6 (Vince and I pop up thinking its time) and then I check out the clock. 6 AM. So we both crawl back into bed and shut the damn bright light off that Maja left on (mind you there are two other sleeping beauties trying to continue their zzzz´s). She comes back in and yells at us that she isnt waiting one more second for us if we´re late, and we´re going to have to go ourselves... yadda yadda yadda... piss moan piss moan. I just lay
The PetroglyphsThe PetroglyphsThe Petroglyphs

Vince sitting next to the rock carvings
there really pondering if I should just sleep and catch the 8:30 bus as planned but then Vince wispers to me that we better just get up, so we do... Rest of the day spent on a bus, pretty nice, had AC, a movie to watch even if it was in Espanol, nice seats ect. So we get to El Valle, this little town in a vally, absolutly beautiful! Reminds me of Pinetop maybe, with a little less cold air. Anyway we hike to what we think are supposed to be petroglyphs but only find one. So me and Vince take a break and talk about what we think all this carving means (I said a map of someones intestines... But I took a picture so as soon as I can load it you judge for yourself) and Maja comes down from where ever finally and starts yelling at us again because Vince made some comment about not knowing where she was. Fuck this fuck that yell blah.... Im already done with that. I certainly didnt come on a trip to be yelled at like Im incompitent because shes in a bad mood. So we walk down the trail, and she left while Vince and I grabbed water at the market and I told him. Flat out. Im not traveling with Maja anymore. I dont care what he does (although I´d love to keep going with him) but I dont need to be snipped at all day long. He said he understood and that he might just stay with me in El Valle for a few more days while Maja moves on to Panama City. We´ll see what happens...
That bullshit aside El Valle is so nice, definatly some place to really relax for a few. I cant wait for Panama City though, because from there Im going to hit San Blas. A serious chunk of paradise!
Much love to everyone!

Love- Eryn

P.S. I bought a pair of handmade leather sandals today for 7 bucks. they´re beautiful, but they stink! Oh and, last night I went to go pee at the Purple House and some one had dumped a bowl of macaroni in the toilet... Nothing seems strange anymore, depsite the macaroni in the loo.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

From the TopFrom the Top
From the Top

Over looking the town of El Valle, after a 3 hour hike!


Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0827s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb