Estoy Trabajando


Advertisement
Panama's flag
Central America Caribbean » Panama » Chiriquí » Cerro Punta
November 21st 2012
Published: November 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

I actually had a lot of work to do today. I kept going right up until five o'clock. I worked on my permit application and then I worked on my applications for graduate school. I also had to send notifications to a few of my professors that I need letters of recommendation. Asking them to write me recommendations always makes me feel a little bit guilty. Maybe that's because it seems to me that they are always busy and never seem to have a spare moment, and I know tons of people ask them for recommendations. At least I have confirmation from all three of them that they'll write me good recommendations. I can't imagince coming out of college and going "uhhhh, who should I ask?" I've read articles entitled "how to get into grad school" and hear about people who don't know who to ask or can only get neutral letters instead of glowing recommendations. It's good to make friends with professors.

Also, for some reason this text box that I write into on this website doesn't have spellcheck. Sorry if I don't catch all of my dsylxeci typos 😉 Maybe I should write it in Word first- though then it messes up the spacing. First world problems.

Advertisement



22nd November 2012

Happpy Thanksgiving Emmy
Hi Emmy, Well, we're here in the 40 degree weather. The sun is shining and it is a beautiful day. They are saying that will change around Wednesday when they are calling for freezing rain or some snow. We understand that you have been having a lot of rain and got really soaked. Do you have a raincoat or an umbrella? Maybe we'll get to talk to you when we go over to your home later. I've got the turkey in the oven and the stuffing ready to heat when the turkey is done. I baked the pumpkin pies and an apple pie yesterday. I hope you get a good meal somewhere today. We called some of our friends and wished them a happy Thanksgiving this morning. Are you going to look for salamanders today? I told Pappy that you need to make a net when you're after frogs or salamanders so you don't have to stick your hands in the water--plus it may be easier to catch them in a net. Whatever, I'm sure you will figure it out. I'm glad to hear you are doing well with your Spanish. I'm sure that will be very useful no matter what you do in the future. I wish we both knew some. Are you watching the Thanksgiving Parade on your phone? We love you Emily, and we pray for you every day. Take care, and we'll be in touch with you again soon. Love, Grammy and Pappy
23rd November 2012

hola!
A net wouldn't work, I have to catch them in bromeliads :( I had a good meal, though I sure could have gone for some of your apple pie :)
25th November 2012

Hello!
Julia sent me a link for your blog and I just finished reading all your entries. Fascinating! I should be working but kept on reading! I remember the first time I dreamed in German when living in Germany. You will be sooo excited when you dream in Spanish for the first time! Then when you write you won't be able to think of the English word, only the Spanish! Keep those blogs coming and be sure to tell us when you dream in Spanish! Love, Aunt Beth
26th November 2012

:)
I haven't dreamt in Spanish yet, but I have spoken Spanish in my dreams... I had a dream that someone said my Spanish wasn't very good so I started talking to them to prove them wrong. Though it still probably wasn't very good!

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb