rain rain go away...


Advertisement
Panama's flag
Central America Caribbean » Panama » Chiriquí » Cerro Punta
November 20th 2012
Published: November 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Man, it just pours and pours and pours here sometime. This morning I measured some of the relevant information about the new salamander I caught and then decided to wait until the rain slowed down a little bit to go up to the office. I did some pull-ups on my spiral staircase while I waited, and then eventually decided it wasn't ever going to stop, so I went on up in the pouring rain.

When I got to the office I checked my email. I had sent Erik Lindquist a picture of my new salamander and he sent me an email back saying that he thinks it might be a new species, so I preserved it and sent a few pictures to Roberto Ibañez at the Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute for another opinion. I'm not convinced it's a new species. I think it's Bolitoglossa magnifica, but I'm not going to argue with the guy with the Ph.D. in Zoology (Erik, if you ever read this, yes, that's how I think of you... "the guy with the Ph.D. in Zoology"). I also got an email from Andres Maduro, telling me the things I need to fix on my permit application. The application stuff is easy enough, but I need to translate my permit into español... hmmmm... good thing two of my best friends speak fluent Spanish!

After all of the exciting emails, my day got significantly less exciting. I practiced my Spanish, talked to Jolanis, went home and went to bed.

Advertisement



21st November 2012

Am I going to be like, "the cousin with a BFA in Cartoons"?
21st November 2012

;)
looks like it... you'll be my kids' favorite second-cousin-once-removed someday XP

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb