Coffee and Flowers in Boquete


Advertisement
Panama's flag
Central America Caribbean » Panama » Chiriquí » Boquete
January 12th 2008
Published: January 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I decided to visit a little highland town called Boquete and coincidently arrived on the same day as their annual 10 day 'Flower and Coffee festival' started.

The town was very pretty with green mountains surrounding it on all sides. I declined to climb the nearby volcano and instead visited a coffee plantation. I didn't realise there was such a massive process involved in making coffee!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

6 month old ´Geisha´coffee plants.6 month old ´Geisha´coffee plants.
6 month old ´Geisha´coffee plants.

In 6 years they will produce beans which can be sold for $500 a pound!
´Floaters´!´Floaters´!
´Floaters´!

These are the ´bad beans´floating on water 10m deep. The good ones sink and are used in proper coffee. The floaters are sent off to instant coffee companies like Nescafe (or as they call it ´No es cafe!´)
When this is full it contains $60 worth of beans.When this is full it contains $60 worth of beans.
When this is full it contains $60 worth of beans.

4 years ago the same amount would have been $15
This is what the bean looks like after it has been dried out.This is what the bean looks like after it has been dried out.
This is what the bean looks like after it has been dried out.

There are still 2 more layers of skin to peel off!
I felt like I was in ´Grey´s Anatomy´or ´E.R.´!I felt like I was in ´Grey´s Anatomy´or ´E.R.´!
I felt like I was in ´Grey´s Anatomy´or ´E.R.´!

We had to wear these fetching outfits while viewing the roasting areas.
With my free drink and goody bag!With my free drink and goody bag!
With my free drink and goody bag!

Dad- sorry to dissapoint you but I still haven´t started drinking coffee yet. I had to have ice cream in this one to disguise the taste!


22nd January 2008

How do you manage to keep your nails looking so lovely and long while travelling?! I had to cut mine off. Is it a sneeky way of making your freakishly small hands look a bit bigger?!!! XX

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0779s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb