Getting my fancy dress fix!


Advertisement
Published: January 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

'Panaman', She-ra and G.I. Joe'Panaman', She-ra and G.I. Joe'Panaman', She-ra and G.I. Joe

Superhero night at Mondo Taitu Hostel
After a tearful good-bye to Hannah and Emma in San Jose, it was time to move on to country number 7- Panama. My first stop was the Carribean islands not far from the Costa Rican border- Bocas del Toro. Imagine my delight to arrive in glorious weather and to find out that there was a fancy dress party that night- woo hoo! I got straight to business and trawled the very few shops that was there to find an outfit that would fit the superhero theme. In the end I settled on 'She-ra, Princess of Power' with a gold nightie, silver belt and tiara and a sword with flashing lights and sound effects! A lot of fun!

The next 5 days were rainy, rainy, rainy. Luckily the island is quite a party place so I was never bored for long. In fact, only a few days later was an 80's themed night, which enabled me another opportunity to go shopping and get dressed up to look like a fool!

I met so many people on the island who had come for a few days and ended up staying for a few months. I dragged myself away after 6 nights (my liver couldn't take much more alcohol, and my purse couldn't take much more expenditure on useless fancy dress accessories!)

Nevertheless, I had a really good time and met some really nice people. My highlights were getting a water taxi to a nice beach on the only sunny day, going out to a posh restaurant without a menu for a 6 course meal that cost $7 and making friends with a girl who had brought hair straighteners with her (although the results only lasted about an hour in the drizzle and humidity!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Wizard BeachWizard Beach
Wizard Beach

The only sunny day I had on the island!


16th January 2008

A mer-mannnnnn!!!!!
Ah Blue steel ! A universally known look!... great way to make friends and always a funny picture! Well done soph! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb