El bueno y el malo


Advertisement
Published: January 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I spent Friday and Saturday nights in the Meri Ngabe cabina on Isla Popa. It only cost 15$ which is a very good bargain. The cabina has running water and a flush toliet! Things have really improved in my little community!

So the bueno there is now a collegio on isla popa, at least there are 2 professors who teach collegio. Collegio is like junior high and high school in the US. This means the kids boys and girls can go to school instead of having to stop once they get to 6th grade. I can´t tell you how excited I was to hear that. One of my favorite kids Porfilo is 17 and finished the ¨7th grade this past year. Who knows if he will be able to continue to 12th grade but he has gone farther in school than any other relative. That makes me so happy I could cry!

The malo Jenito )and porfilio´s) father died in Agosto. He did some pretty horrible things to his sisters but I´m still a bit sad to hear he had died. That leaves Jenito´s mom to care for 3 teenage boys, 2 kids in elementary school, and 2 grandchildren. This is the worst situation possible. Be thankful you are a women-or man- in America. This makes me so sad I could cry. Please pray for her and her family.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.279s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb