Bocas Del Toro


Advertisement
Published: September 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Bocas Del Toro



Bocas Del Toro is easily one of the best places I have been in my life. It is a small town that is on Isla Colon near the Costa Rican border on the Caribbean side. The main street is only about a km long, and it is infested with shops, stores, bars and hostels. Funny, when I was organizing my week here from a distance, I was worried about where I would stay, what the living envirnment would be like, and whether or not it would be adaptable. Well, it was easily adaptable. Hostel Calipso was easy to find (kind of hard to not know where places are here because it’s such a small town) and I was able to meet up with some friends I made in Panama City.

I have truly been in a dream here. The weather has been perfect, the people have been friendly, and there is always something to do. Every day when I wake up, I walk outside to have a cigarette and am greeted by many of the friendly faces that make the experience here so wonderful. There are many people from Israel, England, other European countries and a couple New Zealand guys that I’ve had the opportunity to hang out with.

The surrounding islands can be visited for a minimal expense of a boat ride, and there are many good reasons to take advantage of this Caribbean setting. The second day here, some friends and I (including an American that I have been spending a lot of time with) took a boat ride over to “Hospital Point” where there was an awesome area for snorkeling. The boat driver had all the snorkeling gear for us, and dropped us off in the early afternoon. We spent a few hours swimming around the reefs looking at Corals, Fish and other Ocean Life. It was truly a day well spent.

Yesterday, September 9th, a group of us went to “Starfish Beach.” A couple Panamanian guys transported us to the other end of the island by van, and dropped us off in a dream-spot, a small little village with hammocks on the beach and a restaurant, and we walked about 10 minutes down the beach where we eventually got to a spot where there were Starfish everywhere. It was so cool. We spent a few hours swimming, eating fresh pineapple, and talking as we sat in the shallow water surrounded by giant Starfish. Can you say memorable? That’s the thing about this place. Every day only gets better and better, and I am going to be sad to leave this great Island town.



Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

MeMe
Me

Scuba-Diving


11th September 2010

what a beautiful place.....you look much safer there....thanks for the pics...be safe...luv aunt ju

Tot: 0.312s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb