Panama City


Advertisement
Panama's flag
Central America Caribbean » Panama » Panamá » Panama City
September 6th 2010
Published: August 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

1st Day - August 31st



The first day is almost over, and I thought I would comment on a few things while they are all still fresh in my mind. When I first started walking around today, getting a feel for the city, I was unaware that by the end of the day I would be a professional at waving off cab drivers. The first 1000 times a cab driver beeped at me I assumed that it was someone else they were beeping at, but I guess that I just naturally have a look like I'm expecting something because all day I have been waving off cab drivers. They pull right up on the street and honk until you give them a sign that you do not need a ride. Funny.

Dirty is the second thing on my mind. It's amazing how customary it is for the people here to live dirty. The city has some nice spots, but most areas are reminiscent of Camden, New Jersey. There's nothing quite like walking on the sidewalk passing dead dogs and trash everywhere to ruin my appetite for the day.

I stopped at a little cafe that this Panamanian couple owned. They made me some fried checken with rice and beans. It wasn't bad, but I was not really hungry, just wanted to sit for a minute. Good thing it was cheap. The woman even gave me a little to go box for what I didn't eat, although I tossed it in a garbage can once I rounded the corner. Wasn't feeling like trying to salvage a 3 dollar meal that wasn't that good in the first place.

The hostel is actually pretty sweet compared to what my imagination of it would be. Cold showers of course, but when you wake up sweating a cold shower isn't really that bad.

I met a nice guy from Belgium a little while ago. He's staying at the hostel I am at, although I met him on the street a few blocks away. I cant even pronounce his name let alone spell it, but he's pretty cool. He's taking a nap right now, but is supposed to chill with me later, and go out for a drink or something.

I spotted a McDonalds a little while ago, so I think I am going to go there now....

Day 2

HarborHarborHarbor

This was a touristy area, a bit more upperclass
- Casco Viejo - September 1st

Easily the worst McDonalds I've ever eaten, just FYI. But that was yesterday....

Today has been awesome so far. My friend Laurent and I went to Casco Viejo, a part of the city that was originally the downtown area of Panama City, but was deserted years ago. In recent years the city has begun a rebuilding process. It was really cool, there were beautiful buildings and architecture, next door to old dilapitated buildings that look like you could knock them down by tossing a rock. It was definitely a much different experience then the area of town that I am used to. Only 5-6 km away, but a different world. The pictures can't even truely describe the feeling of being there.

There were lots of shops selling cheap cheap stuff. The fruit markets sold fresh fruit from South America, where I bought three apples for change.

To shy away from the Casco Viejo topic for a minute, one thing that I didn't mention in yesterdays blog is the police force here. There are cops everywhere, all the time, all night long. While walking down the street yesterday this dirt bike
Forrest Gump ShotForrest Gump ShotForrest Gump Shot

Panama Canal
came flying down the street with two green uniformed officials, the one on the back of the bike was holding a shotgun over his shoulder. Funny to see, especially the fact that it was an old crappy dirtbike.

Before coming here I read somewhere that the Panamanian people are either incredibly poor or are upper class. In Casco Viejo this was very apparent, hence the old dilapitated buildings next to the mansions. Some of the houses around the city look like they belong in Washington D.C. and several have guards at all four corners of the house.

Buses. The buses here are interesting. I learned that as America's school systems bought better buses, countries like Panama would buy the older ones, and use them for public transportation. So, imagine all the yellow school buses that take kids to school, only picture them way louder, with smoke billowing out the back, and graffiti drawn all over. It's actually fascinating. Some of the art work on these buses is pretty sweet. One that I said earlier today had Arnold Schwarzenneger (probably not spelled correctly) on the back door. Fun stuff...

Now I am back in the hostel, fuming because I have no batteries for my camera and need to walk in the rain to go find some rechargeable ones. Off to do that now....

September 2nd - September 6th



A lot happened my last four days in Panama City. I met many people in the hostel, and made a lot of friends from all over the world. The Casco Viejo experience was particularly educational. It was a very interesting part of the city, and even though everywhere here is interesting to see, this particular part of town was really like a third world. Days later when I said my goodbyes to Laurent I found some other people in the hostel to spend some time with.

My friend Jeff was a great person to spend time with, who has lots of interesting stories. He has spent a lot of time travelling and is a tour guide for a company in Central America. Tour guides are great people to make friends with because they know a lot of travelling secrets and know of really good spots for tourism, and restaurants and bars to go to. Every time I left the hostel with him and we got to where
HarborHarborHarbor

City in background
we were going, I was happy that I went. A couple days ago he took me to a Peninsula near the city that leads to the Amador Causeway, where there was a very touristy area with a nice harbor and boats, and an awesome view of the city with many restaurants. It looked very much like a vacation spot to me, a place my mother and sister would love to visit. We sat by the water and ate some food, at a great price for what we got. I got a shish kabob with some great steak on it and fries and a pepsi for less that $6. After eating the crappy food in the inner city for days, a meal like that really hit the spot.

Now, I am sitting in the hostel awaiting a bus ride that will take me to Bocas Del Toro, an island town in Panama near the border of Costa Rica. This town is said to be a "party spot" but I am not really looking forward to the party scene. Sure, sitting by the water with a margarita with some good people is fun, but I can't picture myself wanting to hit
OceanOceanOcean

Panama Canal is just to the right...
the bars at night. I'm more interested in doing something unique that I have never done before, like Scuba-Diving, or maybe Snorkeling a reef or something of the sort. My bus leaves at 8pm, so Jeff and I are going to head to the terminal around 6ish so we can grab some dinner before I hit the bus. The terminal is right at the Allbrook Mall, a gigantic shopping center that has several food courts.

My experience in Panama City was just was I was looking for as the beginning of my trip. It was a great place to begin my trip, as it is sort of a mid-ground where travellers clollect to plan their next destination. People come north from South American countries with their stories, and backpackers coming down from other Central American countries collect to prepare for their journeys home, or to South America. I met a lot of people, learned a bit of Spanish, and learned a lot about Central America; where to go, where not to go, what to see and what to expect. My trip is a success thus far....


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Casco Viejo 6Casco Viejo 6
Casco Viejo 6

These kids were playing "Magic" and it got my attention. I gave them a dollar to take their picture.
Panama CityPanama City
Panama City

From Highrise


Tot: 0.589s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1812s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb