Headin out


Advertisement
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I have not written in a few days because we packed up from the main island, Isla Colon, and then took a boat over to the roadless island of Bastimientos, which is so much better than what we have been dealing with. I have a room that sits over the ocean in a thatched roof hut, you can open up the wooden barndoor-like windows and gaze out across the bay to a variety of small, sparcely inhabited islands. The weather has been great, and most days we take a ridiculous jungle trek across the island to one of the beaches- usually about an hour's walk through knee-deep(not kidding) mud and water, with the trail disappearing and re appearing at random. There is an amazing beach with great body surfing that we usually go to, Wizard's beach, then we snake our way down the coastline for another half hour until we arrive at Red Frog Beach where, you guessed it, there are thousands of tiny little red frogs and a variety of snakes. We then take a water taxi or canoe back to the hostel, where we hang out with the two parrots that live there before eating our requisite 3 dollar pork chop meal at the local restaurant. I have been here in Bocas for a full week now, and I have decided it is time to move on, so tomorrow I will head back into Costa Rica and chill at Puerto Viejo again for 2 days so I can see the Panthers game. I got hooked up with a great company down here, Rios Tropicales, and I will head to the operations center on Monday to start my employment with them. I think that I will have to train for around a week, then begin raft guiding on the Rio Reventazon and taking out jungle and sea kayak tours. I am looking forward to the opportunity to hang out with the guides again that I met previously and submerse myself in the language and culture. It is also great to have such a wonderful job which allows me to see such beautiful places on a daily basis. I hope everyone is well back home, and you all better be yelling for the Panthers on Sunday afternoon...

Pura Vida,

Brian

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb