Workin it


Advertisement
Published: January 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Just arrived last night in the tiny, tiny little town of Cairo, Costa Rica, outside of Siquirres. Cairo is not even a town, I don't think, just one long dirt road with a rafting company's headquarters at the end. I arrived late in the afternoon after a series of long busses from Puerto Viejo, becoming very confused and lied to in Limon, then finally to Siquirres and up to the operations center for Rios Tropicales. I am staying in a cabin with 1 other American, four people from Canada, and one from Chile. We have use of a 1980 Continental station wagon, which is awesome to say the least. Everyone else is already guiding, and I am in the training process to become a raft guide. I should have my training done in one week. Everyday, I will do a different river until I can show full competency guiding a trip. Today we took a bunch of old people from a cruise boat down a class 3 section of the Rio Reventazon, a pretty nice, scenic and quick section through dense rainforest. Tomorrow I will be on the same river, just a different section. I will hopefully have better luck with the computers here, I have tried to load pictures for weeks to no avail. I will try and attach a few photos of my trip down the Pacuare a few weeks ago to this one.
Pura Vida,

Brian

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0659s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb