Staying with a Family


Advertisement

My bedMy bedMy bed

Here is my comfortable bed. It is very hot in the room but is bearable with the fan on high all night.
Hi everyone,

I am staying with a family again here in SJDS. There are many women in this large family and they speak fast, loud and often. So, unfortunately I don't get a lot of what they are saying. The food is great, though, and I have a large room and a private bath. For these hot, but deluxe accommodation I pay $80 for the week! And I will probably gain 5 pounds living there. I only have to walk about 5 blocks to the library and 5 blocks to the internet cafe.

Also, I met a nice girl who teaches yoga 5 mornings each week and if I don't have to go out on the mobile library bus at 8 am I can take classes with her. The yoga is very basic and slow, but just perfect for me. Hannah, the teacher, lives here in SJDS and is able to make her living teaching yoga.

At the library I have been working logging books into their manual system for the mobile library. The books are kept in large plastic bins and I haven't figured out the whole system yet. It will probably take me all week to
The kitchenThe kitchenThe kitchen

You wouldn't believe the number of meals that come out of this kitchen every day.
learn the systems.

Here it is very hot (90F by 8 am) and there is no air conditioning anywhere. I wish I thought to bring a second loose skirt. If I find one in the mercado I will buy it to get a little air circulating! Now I have 2 pairs of shorts that I had planned to sleep in and one skirt and capris (which are just so hot).




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

NacatamalesNacatamales
Nacatamales

This large soup pot was used to make nacatamales. These are banana leaves that are stuffed with cornmeal, herbs, onions, tomatoes, rice and port. Hmmmmm, muy rico!
My bathMy bath
My bath

In one corner of my room is this bathroom. There is only cold water but, really, there is no need for hot!
Library PatronsLibrary Patrons
Library Patrons

Here are Alli and Maria, two little girls who participated in some of the activities here. Alli is behind in school and I tried hard to get her to read to me in Spanish. She skips pages and she thinks I don't know it!


11th May 2010

where are you, and how do I get there?
My Dear Dawn, Where are you? How did you get there? How do I get there, too? docrns
14th May 2010

luxurious!
Hey D! Very cool staying with the family speaking rapid fire Spanish :o) I love the narratives and pics and you should get someone to take pics of you too! Be well and "e" you soon!
28th May 2010

Robby
Robby, you need to hop a flight to Houston then Managua, Nicaragua. There are plenty of horses that could use your attention. I ask the locals what the breed is and they say ¨Medianos¨. And they do look in between a pony and a horse. Most are thin and covered with ticks. Nos vemos. Dawn

Tot: 0.422s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.3844s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb