Arrival in San Juan Del Sur


Advertisement

Hi everyone,

I had a really long day of travel and the most difficult thing about wasn't the time traveling but the extremes. I started out in Tampa and went to Miami. In the airports and on the planes it is very cold and I wore two shirts and a fleece. Once I arrive at the airport in Managua, Nicaragua then I needed to shed layers. I got a taxi to the bus station and started my trip south to the city of Rivas and then changed buses and headed southwest to San Juan del Sur (or SJDS).

The buses and the stations are extremely hot. I sweated so much even though I had pants that rolled up. I didn't take the most direct bus because if I had I would have arrived after dark. My strategy in traveling alone is to always travel earlier in the day and get where I need to early. And it was good to do this, because after I found a hotel I was able to go to the beach and see the sunset.

Last evening all the power went out in all of SJDS. Apparently, this is a common thing and many businesses have generators. My hotel did not, but while it was hot I was able to sit outside and enjoy the breeze from the Pacific.

This morning I checked in with the Biblioteca Movil (Mobile Library) where I will be working while I am here. I got the tour and some assigned duties for the next several days. On Wednesday and Thursday next week I will be going out on the bus to some of the more remote schools who borrow from the library. I also was able to attend a "rooftop yoga" class that was great. It was cool and breezy there and we could see the small cove that SJDS is known for. Yoga class costs $4 and was held in English. I will probably go again during the week next week.

I will attempt so upload some photos later today.

Dawn

Advertisement



7th May 2010

Great!
Glad to see you made it ok. All is well here. Sydney has torn up the phone book 2 days in a row. She misses her mom when she's home alone all day and takes it out on the phone book. I went fishing today. We caught 7 redfish and a bunch of small trout, only 2 keepers. All is well here. Take care. Love you and miss you already. Rich
7th May 2010

Safe trip
Hi Dawn - I hope you have a great, safe trip - good weather and a great time together when Rich comes. I'm sorry you never made it over here. I counted on you, Doug and Barbara coming to visit. We're slowly getting packed up. We'll be leaving Sunday morning. I'll sure miss this place and all our new friends and the activities but I am anxious to see Lori and the kids and of course our friends at home - maybe a couple weeks would do it - LOL - but I guess I'll have to stretch that out to about 5 months. Take care! I love you! Aunt Pat
7th May 2010

Your arrival
Dawn, Glad you made it safe and sound. I am anxious to see the pictures. PCL
8th May 2010

I enjoyed your Nicaragua post. It made me want to go there. My blog is looking for travel photos. If you have any time, email us some at dirtyhippiesblog@gmail.com or check us out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com Continued fun on your travels, Eric

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0726s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb