One month down six more to go!


Advertisement
Published: December 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

Thanksgiving dinner
Dec 2nd:

It's been a whole month. Doesn't hardly seam like it. Although all of you that are missing me I'm sure it feels like a century. My surfing took a turn last week for the better, and everyday I can notice a considerable improvement. I reaken I'll be a dam good surfer in a few more months. I better since I am most likely working at that other surf camp that's geared to more hard core surfers with boat trips out to great breaks. I leave to go visit them (Giants Foot Surf Camp) on Saturday and I think I'll stay tell Monday afternoon if they'll have me that long.

I decided to stop taking Spanish classes with the taco hut guy. He doesn't have structured enough lessons and I'm just not making the progress I feel that should be happening. So I am going to start going into town twice a week for 2-2.5 hour lesons at a school.

Cooking for a lot of people is getting easier. At first it was stressful to figure out what to cook that was quality enough to pay $17 in Nicaragua with the limited ingredients that we have here.
New CabianaNew CabianaNew Cabiana

Palm roof being built
It's so hot in the kitchen with the oven on standing next to the stove cooking and cutting. I'm getting used to all of it, and I have nailed some good keepers and I'm getting dinner out on the table more on time too. I also went through a sort week after getting here where I used a lot of cream, and cheese and such, because I felt so limited. Then I realized that I was going to make us all fat, and have sworn it off and have been trying to cook lighter.

Thanksgiving was a huge hit. We had the turkey, mashed potato's, green beans, stuffing, pears in wine sauce, roasted cabbage, salad, why we had that I do not know, and apple pie. We had no pumpkin so it was good that one of my last meals in the states I made sure to eat half a pumpkin pie thinking that I might miss out for the holidays. Every bite was wonderful (the pumpkin pie, oh and the thanksgiving dinner).

There was a sloth just down the road and I barley missed it. I came up from surfing just after sunset and Marielle ran me
FlowFlowFlow

One of the dogs
down to see it, and we did but it was already too dark to get a good look at it. 😞

We had a wee tarachula in the main house the other day, and a large toad just like the one I kissed in Costa Rica in Quepos(Cammie).

I have gotten better at finding guest to make friends with. Not all of them, but this week it's been a couple Ed and Hanna from Manchester, funny dorky sweet people about my age. I am bummed that they will be leaving in the morning! It's just when it starts to feel like one big family that people leave. Although I think that I am of envy for most of them since I don't have to go back to "the real world" of tennis shoes, work computers and emails, not surfing nearly everyday.

People ask me what I'm going to do after this and I haven't got a clue (sorry Dad). I know I want something pretty spectacular, and I want to do well for myself, I just haven't put my finger on what that is. I figure that's another reason why I'm down here. To meditate on what
Buena VistaBuena VistaBuena Vista

My daily veiw
I want to do with my life in the state in which I would like to achieve doing whatever it is that I end up doing. I don't mind putting some hard work into whatever I come up with. I'm just hoping a good idea comes along to spawn the next step.

Enough of that eh! I guess I have a lot of time to ponder things here. Which is nice. I'm on to my third book and almost finished with it. Sorry Tyler I couldn't read your book. I found it too boring! I appricate you giving it to me and I read nearly 40 pages before I said enough was enough.

Well loved ones I must be heading off to bed. I cook breakfast in the morning and then head off to my first Spanish lesson in town, and then back in time for late afternoon high tide surfing during sunset. There is nothing better then being in the water while the sun peals under the sea.

Dec 5th:

Since I was so tired when I wrote the last entry I didn't feel like up loading pictures that night. So here I am updating
Papay treePapay treePapay tree

with a papay fruit
what has happened in the last few days and sending it off with pictures and all. I figured some of you might get pissy if I sent a blog entry without photos.

My Spanish lesson went well! I got a motorcycle ride to town from the electrician that was putting in new solar panels. I was a lot more scared before getting the ride then during. Our road just as you leave the lodge is VERY steep and all bumpy gravel.

Other than that not too much has happened. I'm off to Giants Foot Surf camp today after my shift is over. I will finally get new beach pictures, and hopefully more animal pictures.

Hasta la proxima vez!

Dec 7th:

Still haven't sent this thing through. I have returned from Giants Foot Surf Camp, and I had a blast. They are all a bit younger, 28-30 that own and work there which was nice. They like to have a little bit more fun there then here at Buena Vista. Not to say we don't have a good time here. I'm having a blast. It's really nice to see how two different businesses can be ran here in Nicaragua.

I haven't gotten the final word of whether or not I have the job, but I have a good feeling since we all seamed to get along well.

I saw the coolest thing ever in my life! Bio-Luminescence. Swam in it and everything. It happens at night with a fairly full moon reflecting off the water. They phytoplankton illuminate to a neon glowing green, and there are thousands throughout the water so as you swoosh your hand and feet around while swimming it they flutter and glow. Super cool!

Dec 16th:

Ok I'm going send this off today. I keep getting interrupted or it's late and I'm tired. Today high tide is during my shift so I'll hit the surf before work, but it's not necessary to put in a full sesson.

Since the 7th. I still have only gotten word from Giants foot that they would talk. I ran into a girl that is cooking at a place behind Buena Vista and she said she had been talking to them since last Sping so they may be talking to more then one person and just keeping me on the line, so I'm no longer counting on them. Hopeful, but not waiting. I'm going to give them another week, and then start looking for something else for March-June.

My surfing gets better in baby steps day by day. Same for the Spanish.

Christmas is coming and I just don't feel it. It's nice not to feel the stress. They still play music and it's just as annoying in another language. We will have another huge fest that Marielle and I will pre-pair. Marielle's cousin Sarah who is 25 just rolled through. She is dutch, but grew up in New Zealand and has been traveling/working all over the world for the past 4 years and came to Central America in October. Marielle had only meet her once but had told her that if she was ever in Nicaragua she should come by, and here she is. I really like her, and we get along really well. It's really nice to have another person my age, and same place in there life as me. A friend.

One of our maids is getting married on the 26th and wants 8 days off during the busiest two weeks of the year, so Marc& Marielle offered her a job tell the New Year is over and she accepted and seams just as stocked to be staying and have a friend for a while. She is going to stay in a tent in the back of the property and help out. I'm super stoked to have her around for longer! She is about the same place in surfing as I too. I think we are going to go to town and have a real fiesta night on Friday and just stay the night since it's cheaper to rent a room then to get a cab back at night. Should be fun!

Well I better get going on the pictures or I won't be able to keep my promise of getting this up today.

Love you all, miss you all, but not enough to come home
-Amie

P.S. I almost forgot. I went on the best night ever to do the turtle tour. There were thousands of turtle laying eggs, and hundreds coming out of the beach. They were bumping into each other, digging each others nests up, and I saw a nest of baby turtle hatch and got to hold one. I'll include a picture, but since flashes are not aloud it's not a great picture, but gets the gist of the size of them.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 28


Advertisement

AidalyAidaly
Aidaly

One of the morning maids She likes to help me with my Spanish


2nd January 2010

miss you too
Amie, Love your line of "love you, miss you, but not enough to come home". It's perfect. Enjoy this adventure to the fullest, as you already are. How much more fun, to now have a friend to enjoy it all with. Love ya,

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb