Still not surfing all that well, but can't wait for turkey day.


Advertisement
Published: November 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hola amigos,

I'm doing good here. Week two of work went by fast. We have had a 8 person group of Canadians in since last Sunday night and they will be her til Tuesday night. I shared my Birthday with them, and now it's one of there birthdays today. Thank you to all that wished me a happy B-day. Marielle baked me a breakfast cake.

My surfing shows little to no signs of improvement ):, but I will keep plugging away at it. I need to. It seams that I still have the job offer at the other surf camp, but it's more for hardcore surfers since all the breaks are by boat. No baby waves that I have been tying to surf here. I have two and half more months to get kick ass.

My Spanish is getting just a bit better. My teacher gave me a ton of homework. I have a hard time dividing my time well enough between getting enough time in surfing and doing Spanish in the hours of the day that I'm not working or socializing with guests. When ever I don't want to do my homework I think of Tim and how hard he studies and how well it pays off for him. Christy too. Do either of you have any secrets?

My new favorite time to surf is at sunset. Even if I don't catch any waves it's SO beautiful out that it is just a joy to be in the water as the sun disappears into the ocean. I wont have any pictures taken of me surfing until I get more consistent with standing up and ridding waves. I give it two more week. Most groups of guests have pretty good cameras so I imagine one of them can grab a shot of me.

I haven't seen any sea turtles on the beach yet, but both sets of guests have each seen them. I make sure to take my camera eveytime I take a walk on the beach in hopes to see one. I will be a little kid when I do. We did have a couple of owls fly into the house last week. Male and female. The males have the big ears and the female has the tiny ones.

Well I better start studding my Spanish. Happy Thanksgiving, and don't worry you don't need to eat extra Turkey for me. We are having a traditional thanksgiving. Although I don't know if Marielle will be able to find pumpkin for my favorite...pumpkin pie!

I'm still in need of a travel Buddy in February??? Anyone???


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



23rd November 2009

Pictures
All these pictures are from playa Madera and other small beaches or coves that are all on the walk along the beach. During the day harpoon fishers catch parrot fish and bring them in during sunset.
24th November 2009

surfs up!
Hey Amie! Glad to hear your enjoying your stay thus far!! The surfing thing is understandable...I think there's a reason they all say it's so much harder than snowboarding. :) You'll get it, keep on trying. And the spanish thing...good luck! I swear the thing that will help you the most is just surrounding yourself with spanish-speaking people. Are you dreaming in spanish yet?? That's when it gets weird :) keep us posted on the travels!! enjoy
25th November 2009

Hello my wonderful friend!!!! Wow! I love your blog-it sounds like life is good. I am so sorry I missed your birthday- I didn't even realize it was coming up. Happy Birthday!!!!! WAHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! All is well around here-school is coming to an end and it is becoming crunch time to get all of the last minute stuff in-crazy-you know how i get! We are spending thanksgiving at my sister's. There will be like 25 people-i am making pumpkin risotto and homemade stuffing-gonna use the rest of the pumpkin from your garden (i froze about 2 cups). Arwen says she hopes you are having a blast and will get on line soon-her computer is on the fritz. She hopes its warm cause we are freezing our booties off. I cross country skiied in our backyard the other day- we have also been sledding. Good times. Arwen's folks were here for about 3 weeks-but they just got their new place and are super stoked. Do you have a physical address so that I could send you a surprise? Are you making friends? I bet you are-again-good times.We are having a friends potluck here on sunday after thanksgiving-I invited tima nd lauren-we'll see. Wish you were here!!!!! Much Love, Christy
26th November 2009

Chocolate!
Good to here from you. This is an adress to send things: Bambu Beach Club/Amie en Buena Vista Surf Club Del Restorante EL Timon 300VRS al Norte San Juan Del Sur Don't send expensive things (not that I thought you would) because they will tax me 30% of it's value. I could use some good dark chocolate!! The TJ brand with the yellowish/beige package three pack is great and cheep. XOXO is an awsome brand with fruit and nuts in it. Oh man thinking of this stuff is making me salivate. Oh and put yourself in that box too!

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb