Tortugas


Advertisement
Published: January 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone...sorry I suck at this blogging thing. All is good, still in San Juan Del Sur. Really great place with lot´s of amazing people. I´ve been staying on the neighbouring beach at a campsite/hostel called Matilda´s. Absolutely stunning beach with barely anyone on it. At night I fall asleep to the sound of crashing waves and crazy howler monkeys. The surfing is great but I am getting the snot kicked out of me. I was all cocky and rented a really short board and basically got tumbled in the whitewash all day long. But after many bruised shins I finally got the hang of it and could somewhat hold my own...in the much smaller waves of course. Than the other day I took a nice nasty spill and broke my fin off my board which left me with a) a nasty bruise on my calf which has given me a wicked limp and b) a broken board. So came back into town, which is a 25 minute brainshaking ride through some lovely green fields and unfortunate huge condo development, to replace my now defunct board.
Am seriously thinking of buying a board here in town but I really don´t want to lug it around with me. But it´s not cheap to rent and I´m thinking Costa is going to be much more so economically it makes sense.

As for some stories...

Ometepe was great. The bus ride on the other hand was insane. Basically there is two or three buses that go to the far side of the island a day so they are packed! And I mean packed. Somehow myself and my bag got on and I had to stand on one leg cause there was no room for the other one. Was kind of molested by this really cute older nicaraguan lady who was hanging on to me for dear life. This lasted about an hour and a half. Stayed at this beautifull place 2km from the beach so it was nice and secluded. The family was amazing and the fish...so bloody tasty. Stayed a few days, tried to bike the island which was excruciating because the roads are horrible.

Then got the wise idea to climb the smaller of the two volcanos that are located on the island. So myself, two other girls and our guide head out at around 8am. Start´s off okay, a little steep but no big deal. After 3 kms of staright up, starting to feel it a bit. Then our guide (who was 61 by the way) reveals to us that the last 2kms are the hardest. He was right. It was really steep and basically I was knee deep in mud. For about 3 hours. The top was cool, it´s not active and a lake has formed in the crater. After about an hour of rest, we venture back down. Basically slid the whole way down. So after 6 hours of really painfull and dirty hiking, had to reward myself with a nice cold one.

After ometepe, hit the beaches of San Juan and made a beeline for the surfing. And that brings me to today. I´ll have to type the beach stories another time as this blog is getting too long and my brain hurts after a big night in town last night. Just wanted to mention that I saw a baby turtle on the beach hatch from it´s egg and make it´s way to the ocean. It was really random. I think it normally happens at night but this was mid day and there was no one but me and the turtle. I cheered it on as it finally flippered it´s way to the water. It was really special. I named him Bob.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb