Nicaragua


Advertisement
Published: January 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I finally made it off Utila island but not without some troubles. A huge storm came in and i´m convinced the boat captians just go whenever they want willy nilly so the boat didn´t run for three days which doesn´t seem like a long time but when it´s pouring rain and there is nothing to do but stare at each other it can seem endless. The ride itself was fun for me but I don´t get seasick so I was all good but most of the boat was throwing up. Good times.

Getting out of Honduras was an adventure in itself. Got a bus right off the boat to Tegucicalpa (the capital of Honduras). Not the nicest city in the world. Saw many packs of roving dogs eating garbage on the streets. What a beautiful sight. Spent only one night there than got up early to catch the Tica bus to Nicaragua. For those of you that don´t know, the Tica bus is a luxury bus that mostly foreigners take that is fast and easy because it´s direct, has movies playing and air conditioning. Very nice. But of course the bus was full so I had to make other plans. Rather than stay another night in Teguc I decided to chicken bus my way out. I took one bus to Cholcutan, then another to San Pedro de Colon. On that bus i was asked many times but this drunk guy about my Canadian passport which got me a little nervous. Couldn´t really understand all that he was saying but I know he kept mentioning a prison. No Se. From San Pedro I got a taxi to the Nicaraguan border which I walked over with ease. After that I got a bus from the border to Managua (the capital of Nicaragua) 12 hours after I left from Teguc. WHat a day!

So Managua is the evilest city i´ve ever been to and I only spent a few hours overnight there and that was a few hours too many. yikes. got yet another bus to Granada where i´ve been for the last three days. Nice place. I went to a lake in a volcano the other day and today climbed Volcan Mombacho. Tomorrow I head to Isla ometepe where i´ll spend a few days than back to the beach at San juan Del Sur. I´ve been travelling with these nutty israeli guys and I met a girl in my hostel the other day from Courtney on the island. Trippy. So all is good. It will be my 2 month anniversary of travelling on the 12th and I still couldn´t be happier. Or dirtier. Miss you all

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb