Finca Zopilote


Advertisement

Ferry from St. Jorge to OmetepeFerry from St. Jorge to OmetepeFerry from St. Jorge to Ometepe

The ferry can be rough when winds are high, but this was a smooth and pleasant ride. The bus was waiting for us when we got off the boat.
Hi!

I am in Altagracia today after getting used to my new accommodations on the Maderas (Volcano) on Omotepe. The place is really great and there are lots of visitors coming and going every day. This morning my hutmates and I were all working on building soil by mixing topsoil, rice hulls, ashes and composted chicken poop. They are starting some new plants soon and we were working all morning in the garden digging and hauling stuff.

Altagracia is one of the bigger cities on the island and seems like it is 8 blocks square. It is really hot here today after 2 days of breezy overcast days with a few drops of rain. At night there is a lot of bugs, so reading in the hut is not a really good option. The bugs are attracted to my headlamp or the overhead light and come flying at my head. There is a communal kitchen but it is often very busy of kind of dirty. Today the regular workers came and the kitchen was cleaner afterwards.

Every morning there is work that we can do. I hope to get some work out of the sun tomorrow morning since
The MariposaThe MariposaThe Mariposa

Here is my hut which is called the Mariposa. I have the downstairs to myself but there are two hutmates who are sharing a room up above.
I got a lot of sun on my face today. Tuesday night is pizza night, so I have that to look forward to after a long day of working and studying spanish. Also it will be my birthday and I'll be 45!






Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

La ConceptionLa Conception
La Conception

Here is the top of the largest volcano that makes up most of the island. It is almost always having clouds or steam at the top.
PlantsPlants
Plants

There are instructions everywhere about what is appropriate in this ecolodge. Guests need to use the composting toilets only for solid elimination. Liquids are voided in an Orinario where are areas which are planted with specific plants that can handle that sort of waste.
Water ReservoirWater Reservoir
Water Reservoir

This large concrete structure is the catch basin for the rain water. There is no water that is pumped to the logde so it is recommended that guests take very short showers.
Getting my hands and legs (not feet) dirtyGetting my hands and legs (not feet) dirty
Getting my hands and legs (not feet) dirty

Here is the bottom half of me after working in the trenches. Dirt pantyhose - my new invention!
WalkwaysWalkways
Walkways

There are these walkways all over the farm which makes it so nice to explore. The owner tells me labor is cheap and that he can employ as many as 20 workers on the island which has an 80% unemployment rate.
Inside the hutInside the hut
Inside the hut

Here is the inside of the hut. The same sort of cement and stone structure is used to build up the walls one meter. Then the frame is screened and the roof is thatched. No smoking is allowed, Muy Peligroso!


17th May 2010

You!
Feliz CumpleaƱos! Love you, miss you! Have fun, see you soon. Your hero: Rich
17th May 2010

short shower?
Dawn - it looks like you could use a LONG, HOT shower - LOL!
18th May 2010
Inside the hut

Hello
Hey Dawn, Happy Happy Birthday !!! I hope someone made you a cake. Looks like you are having a good time. I'm sure you are learning a lot more spanish. Dress rehersal tomorrow for belly dance, wish you were here for the recital. Hope tomorrow is wonderful for you......Diane
18th May 2010

Happy Birthday youngster
Nice pictures. Miss dancing with you. A
18th May 2010

happy happy!
Feliz compleanos, Amiga! are kissing bugs (reduvid beetles?) a problem there? Stay cool and "e" you soon :o)
18th May 2010

Happy Birthday
Happy Birthday. Looks like your having fun.
18th May 2010

Hey Terri
Thanks for your comments and being a great friend. I am glad you enjoyed your vacation. We can learn a lot from these people who live so simply out of necessity. I hope the belly dance debut goes well and I am looking forward to the Sauce Boss. Love, Dawn
18th May 2010

Cool showers are better
Hey, The first drops from the shower are warm then slightly cool from the heat in the water lines. But I definitely don't want a hot one. Here it is also quite hot but if often takes until 10 am before the clouds lift. Love, Dawn

Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 14; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb