Ometepe


Advertisement

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Hi everyone!

I made it to Omotepe yesterday without any problems. It is remote but very beautiful. There are limited busses and limited internet connections available. I had to walk one hour this morning to get online. The people here are very nice and will walk with you and talk some on the main road. Most of the roads are not paved and I am not sure how confident I would feel on a bike.

The place that I am staying is on the side of the Madera volcano which is the smaller of the two volcanos that make up the island of Omotepe. I will not attempt to climb these volcanos. The smaller one would take 4 hrs to hike up and 3 to hike down and I would not be able to manage that. The name of the place is Finca Zopilote (which means Vulture Farm) and is an amazing place. All the things are built of local lava rock and thatch roof or bamboo. They make their own jellies, peanut butter, bread, yogurt (there is a cow on the hill for milk). Three nights a week they heat up a stone oven and serve pizza. Last night I had the veggie pizza (well half for dinner and the other half for breakfast this morning). I have a nice hut called the Mariposa and my hutmates are two British girls who have just finished internships in business in NYC. They are traveling for several months before they go back home. They occupy the upstairs and I get the downstairs to myself. The upstairs has a double bed and two hammocks and I have two normal single beds until another guest arrives.

There are path walkways all over the farm made of the stone and cement and there is definitely a hippie vibe here. Lots of dreadlocks and some marijuana smoking. Also a lot of tobacco smoking and growing going on. I made a deal with the owner that I would bring him a vacuum sealer for his tobacco and he will put that toward my stay. He estimates that if I stay a week and eat everything at the farm, that he will own me money. I do need to decide if I will move on to another place at the end of the week or stay on here for a while.

Ok, I made it okay and am tired after my walk this morning. I will let you get a better idea of what things are like here later when I can upload some pictures. The computers here do not recognize my flash drive or my camera card. I will have to take a bus into town tomorrow or so to try to get the pictures up.

Hasta luego,
Dawn

Advertisement



16th May 2010

Home
Glad to hear you made it OK. I went fishing this morning, caught 4 redfish and a few small trout. I'm at work now, waiting on the students. Take care, talk to you soon. Love, Rich

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb