Weekend in Nicaragua


Advertisement
Published: June 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Let's see, this was probably the most culturally shocking adventure that I've ever had (not in a bad way at all)... So I'm not sure "shocking" is the right word, but it was definitely different from anything I've ever done, including my whole Istanbul experience...

So we got to the border in our transportation where the driver let us out of the van. There was a crowd of guys surrounding the door before we even got out of the van. It was okay though, they aren't aggressive here, you just have to say "no gracias"...Anyway, we walked through the border, paid our taxes to get out of Costa Rica and into Nicaragua, got our stamps, and everything...There was a "no man's land" of about 300meters that we had to walk through. I was a little nervous about this, but in the end, it was all a piece of cake.
Granada is a beautiful European influenced city. It's one of the oldest city's in America. I'll post the pictures when I get home... So friday night we managed to go to a professional baseball game. Go Tiburones (sharks)! It was really fun. Luckily we befriended one of the staff at our hotel, and he took us around town all weekend. Then on Saturday we did a tour of Nicaragua Lake (the second largest lake in America, or the world I don't remember)... It was really cool. Orwin (our guide/hotel staff guy) knew a lot of the history of this area. I guess they were in a 20 yr war that just got over in 92 ( I think)... So, the islands in the lake are owned by the rich people of Nicaragua. Anyway, we went to a volcano, I think it was called Machua. And then down to a sulfuric lagoon that was inside of a crater. There we were able to swim. It was quite beautiful, and because the water was sulfuric it makes your skin soft(: It reminded me of when I went to that white place in Turkey, I have no idea what the name of it was, but it was all white with sulfuric springs...So you think this was a busy day, no wait...I still can't even believe that I did this, as if going to a baseball game wasn't going to top this trip off...I ended up going to a Cock Fight. Yes, a real Central American Cock Fight in the backyard of some side road in Nicaragua. What's funny about this is that a girl in our group happened to mention wanting to see one, and our guide was on the phone in minutes figuring out directions to the closest one. It was crazy. We were obviously the only North Americans there. And I of course was wary of going, but had to because I wasn't going to sit in the van with the driver. So yes, I paid the 10 cents to get in. I took a few pics, but when the poor little roosters started going at it, I couldn't watch...So our guide got me a beer and we sat off to the side while everyone was cheering and the roosters were cockiling(or whatever they do)...I really didn't like it. I almost started crying, but like I told the guide, I understand it's just a part of there culture. And I found out that they actually eat the one that dies. I still don't like it, I couldn't watch it at all, but I understand. So I would never expect to know so much about cock fighting. Like they have razor blades in there talon claw, and the size blades depends on what kind of rooster it is. I'm not sure that I explained it well enough, this was pretty extreme for me.

All in all Granada was amazing. The people were really friendly and most of them knew English really well. The food was great. I had a great steak there, I guess they're known for there beef... I'm really happy that I was able to go and see all of it. And I wouldn't mind going back someday.

Advertisement



17th June 2008

Jealous
I've always wanted to go to a cockfight...but now what you described it as I dont think I need to go anymore cuz I would probably have done the same thing. Glad you had fun in nicaragua soaking up the culture!

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.06s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb