Nica traveling


Advertisement
Published: April 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Nica cont....
So I catch a bus up towards Leon in hopes another bus will take me to puerto sandino or I'd hitch in. I always use to have to bother the bus driver or the bus ticket collector as to where I get off but with my iPhone and google maps I can keep and eye on where I am and figure it out myself. It's amazing how much iPhones have changed the travel game. Anyway apparently this bus was on the old road and boy was it old and bumpy. Google maps said 20 mins to the intersection probably an hour later we finally arrived there. Where I get off with a couple other people. It was a pretty barren intersection a gas station and a tienda/tiny store. I found out a bus would be coming through in about and hour or so we waited. But a big dump style truck pulled up and stopped and we all hopped on. He drove us in a few Kms down the road and dropped us off at another intersection. There wasnt much info about this port town and all the locals kept saying there wasn't any waves there and there wasnt really any place to stay. But I started waking in to port anyway. The local kid I was with said I should take a took took taxi. This taxi guy drove me pretty much into the port and it was still ages to the beach and you could barely see the waves or any place to stay. It was a typical abandon sketch port. Oddly a van drove up next to us and it turned out to be an Aussie and a Portuguese chick looking for waves as well. I told them I heard of a place a bit further south called mirrramar it has a surf camp there and we might be able to figure it out. They were super cool and offered me a ride. We made it to the other town but the surf looked really crap. We pulled into a surf camp not the one I had contacted but one literally next door. We talked to the manager and he told me he was fully booked for weeks and the mirramar surf camp was full of ass hole brazilians. He told me he had a friend that might have a place we could go check out. The Aussie and the Portuguese chick were living out of the van so they didn't really need it but the my drove me down there. They offered me their tent and they would sleep in the van which I almost took but I didn't have any food or anything for the night and I really wanted to get on the wave early. They were going to hire a fishing boat to go out there which also spiked my interest being way cheaper but again I wanted to make sure I got on the swell it was suppose to build over the next 2 days. So I decided to stay at Josh's place Puuerto Sandio surf resort. Josh runs this house which is owned by some floridians that barely come down. It was a bit expensive but I didn't really have any other options. Anyway I stayed 2 nights and surfed 4ish hours straight each day it was a super long pumping left. It was a bit fast and times and a bit fat at other times but was super long. The biggest draw back was the jellyfish were terrible. They say they are only there for about 2/3 weeks and it just came in last week. Haha. I also will say I have never seen such arguing and yelling between the American surf camp owners and the Brazilian camp owners. It was wild. After my last morning sesh I packed up my stuff and had josh drive me out to a different intersection so I could catch a micro bus direct to managua on the new road. This trip was so much better it had AC and it was fast. I got to Managua then had to take a taxi to a different bus station, the taxi driver was super friendly. From humbes, the bus station, I took a bus to Rivas and then i think I just made the last bus down to San Juan del sur. Mike again was in this town he wanted me to go out but I was feeling a bit sick and crazy tired from surfing and all the travel. I crashed early but met up with him the next day. Mike wanted to rent motor bikes to ride out to one of the beaches. He had never rides a motorcycle before or a motor scooter but wanted to give it a try. So he rented a scooter and I rented a dirt bike and we hearded out to Majagual where Jeff (old roommate from Jackson) his gf Phil and his gf were suppose to be. Well we made it about 3/4 way there, just had climbed up a huge hill and started down when mike lost traction I guess and ditched the scooter. He got some cuts and scraps but nothing major. The bike also was "fine" super dirty and dusty and scratched up but it ran fine. He was pretty shaken up so we headed back. The rental place didn't have insurance, apparently you break it you buy it deal. We got back and the mother of the shop freaked out and said it would be 1200 for a new bike she was super disappointed because the bike was about 2 weeks old. Mike wound up going up to Rivas with them then next morning to the dealership to assess the damages. Turns out he had to pay 500 for it. But I think it was a bit of a scam I didn't think they are going to replace the plastic panels its just cosmetic and it's a rental it's gonna get "dropped"That Monday I started taking spanish classes again. It's not quite DELE teaching but my teacher is fluid in French and English which was really helpful he was able to translate and clarify things I just accepted before. Monday afternoon Jeff and his group came into town to switch cars for a 4x4 I met up with them, actually Jeff heard my voice in my spanish class while they were walking around. They took me back to thief house up in the mountains. Wow it was a sick place. Screen walls from ceiling to the floor that actually were giant doors. They also had an infinity pool overlooking the beach. It was def a girlfriend place. They even had their own cook who made us lunch and dinner. We spent the afternoon just hanging out chatting by the pool, oh they also had private massages. Haha The next morning we made breakfast then they dropped me off in town before they went out for a tour. I caught up with them for dinner and drinks when they got bak at night. The next day I had class in the am then caught the shuttle over to playa Maderas were they were all hanging out and the guys were trying to surf. I surfed a bit the went in and helped the guys out pushing them in to waves and what not. I did the same thing the following couple days I met a girl named Lauren who was also staying in SJDS and heading out to Maderas everyday. She and I tried waking on the slack line which is like a tight rope thing. Its hard as hell. I went to the beach Friday but Jeff and his group didn't show so I had a surf. I wanted to head up to playa gigante for the weekend but when I woke up Saturday I was super tired and just didn't feel like dealing with busses and what not. So I stayed in town got my laundry done fixed the nose of my board studied a bit and caught up on here. Sunday I decided to go to playa Hermosa it was suppose to be a beautiful beach and a fun beach break. Well it was a decent each and the surf was pretty small I did get some fun ones though. I met a guy named Tom from NYC that use to vacation on LBI he's just learning to surf so he was super stoked and kept saying I was killing it so it was a nice ego boost. Haha Finally this brings me to the current week. I have been taking classes mainly in the afternoon and surfing in the am. I am trying to figure out what to do this weekend Lauren needs to head to costa as well. So I might go with her on Friday or Saturday but I was thinking of trying to hit that beach I didn't hit last weekend. Then head to costa on Sunday or Monday. Well see though. HahaWow done the was a lot of work.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.453s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb