Pacific Coast


Advertisement
Published: January 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I failed to mention this in the last blog but when we returned from the volcano, James was at our hostel. He had taken a number of buses through the border and got into Leon at mid-day. Today the plan was to make it to a huge beach on the Pacific coast an hour away. We all got our shorts and water and jumped on a chicken bus. Just for those that don't know what a chicken bus is, it is an old school bus like the ones in Canada. The main different is they are painted all different colours and look a little run down. Well this would be an interesting ride as I shared my little seat with a young girl and an older woman. We were packed like sardines with the aisle full of people standing. Luckily the trip only lasted an hour and I still had a few dry spots on my shirt. We jumps off the bus in Pinaya and walked onto the beach. It's hard to describe but imagine a blackish sandy beach that stretches far and nobody is on it. We were a little stunned at how empty his amazing beach was. Oh well better for us as we dropped all our stuff and ran out into the waves. After three hours of body surfing we were all really sore and tired. As we walked back up we realized that there was a surf board rental shop where the bus dropped us off :/. What a let down as we were all way to finished to go back out there. This was one of the best days for just hanging out with no plans, the beach was awesome. As we pulled back into Leon, I jumped out of the cab at the market to grab my brother a good souvenir 😊. We then all met up at the hostel for a swim in the pool to wash all the dried salt off. It was a late dinner for us then off to an internet cafe to dump some photos. A message to our families, the ones that look really bad are from new years so just ignore them. After that we were back at the hostel for the night. Tomorrow is going to be an early morning to get the little traveling done before it gets hot. Leon is the hottest place so far, it must be near 40. 

Advertisement



8th January 2010

Hi Robert
Hi Robert, your Mom helped me to get on this site! Talked to her on SKYPE this morning. Oh you are having a wonderful time! I can't figure out how to view the photos. I know the chicken busses, the bugs, the heat.......great memories restored by your blog. Love you, Colleen
11th January 2010

Hey Aunty Collsy! Central America is amazing, I love it here. Just started Spanish school in Granada for a week. Then I am going for a home stay :). My photos are on facebook, I haven't had time to put them here, so have a look there. Lots of love, Robert

Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb