You havent really traveled until you´ve ridden in a bus with twice the people it was built for....


Advertisement
Published: December 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Wooooo-weeeee! Its been an exhausting few days of adventuring.... Before I went on an insane hike, I went and did a little photo tour of the city (so, see pictures). On Tuesday night I went on a full moon hike with a non-profit group. We hiked in the mostly dark for over five hours to the mouth of a still active and bubbling volcano! It was one of the most insane hikes Ive ever done. All of us tripped, stumbled, and slid around in the dark to get there, but the views of the lava as well as the rising sun was worth it.... well, worth it until I realized we still had to hike down.... We desended into the valley between the active volcan and a dormant one into some grassy areas and took a serious seista! All of us slept for an hour and a half (give or take, I have no idea the time really) and then began the real desent. I fell probally an average of half a million times, and had to stop lots- I was so exhausted, but we all managed to drag our selves out of there within 4.5 hours or so. On our
Chruch in Parque CentralChruch in Parque CentralChruch in Parque Central

The lions that guard the church. Its said that at night they come alive....
way back into town we stopped at some bubblinh mud springs- where no dout the lava from the volcano heats the mud.... It bubbled and gurgled, and I didnt give a shit, so I headed to the trail that leads back into town. Our group muched some lunch, and then waited for the next bus back into Leon. In the mean time, half of us passed out on the lunch table. We got in one of the most packed busses Ive seen in a while- and I felt REALLY bad for the lady I had to sit next to. I surely stank and was covered from head to toe to a thick layer of dirt. We made it back to Leon, and I headed for the grocery store to get a wash cloth- there was no way in hell I was going to get clean otherwise. The grocery store was PACKED as well because there is a big huge celebration today- so everyone buying meat and booze and candy. Tonight, all the kids will be participating in an equvalent of our Halloween. So, tommorrow hopefully more pictures!
Love everyone- maybe Saturday I will be boarding down the side of another
Another churchAnother churchAnother church

Porbally the most detailed church in Leon
volcano!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Another churchAnother church
Another church

Simple yet beautiful!
Volcano of DOOM!Volcano of DOOM!
Volcano of DOOM!

Check out the lava!
Volcano of DOOM!Volcano of DOOM!
Volcano of DOOM!

At night...
Volcano of DOOM!Volcano of DOOM!
Volcano of DOOM!

In the morning...


7th December 2006

Hot gasses and stuff
My fantasy since a young child is to see a volcano errupt. Sounds like you came pretty close to just that! whew. Nice pics. No flashlights for your moonlight hike? Sounds glorious. Love you. Meoooowwie

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb