of bus fires and playlists


Advertisement
Published: January 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ah, the joys of living in a developing country.

After my last post, the 1:30 bus that I caught home broke down halfway up the mountain and the engine started smoking. Of course everyone tried to trample each other getting off the bus. I was taking my time, trying not to get run over, mostly because the driver wasn´t worried, so I wasn´t worried.

But it was fun walking into town and getting to say that the bus caught on fire!

Also, after not seeing other PCVs in my area - they are all over the damn place! There are only three of us Agriculture PCVs in Madriz but there are 8 Health volunteers... and now I see someone everytime I come into Somoto. It´s nice. Just to know there are others out there.

So, in the interest of creating my ultimate Nicaraguan playlist, here are some songs that are on it, in no particular order:

amor sin cuenta - vicente
bandolero - don omar
make you feel better - rhcp
dejame vivir - jarabe de palo
float on - modest mouse
de música ligera - soda stereo
hypnotize - notorious b.i.g
yo soy tu maestro - rookiee
bonito - jarabe de palo
two step - dave matthews
cancion de amor - don omar
lose yourself - eminem
lo que paso paso - daddy yankee
desde que te despierto - juanes
donde estan corazon - enrique
drops of jupiter - train
perfect gentleman - wyclef
minutos - ricardo arjona
no woman no cry - bob marley
para siempre - vicente
yo se bien - don omar
is it you - cassie
no apagues la luz - enrique
soul to squeeze - rhcp
free bird - lynyrd skynyrd
depende - jarabe de palo
promiscuous - nelly furtado
low - flo rida featuring t-pain
somos de la calle - daddy yankee
don´t push me - 50 cent
ching-a-ling - missy elliott
pal norte - calle 13

Vicente is very popular here, as in any Latin nation, I suppose. Enrique is just as awesome in Spañol as in English. I´m a fan of Jarabe - thank you Arielle. I tend to listen to a lot of hip hop and rap in English - alot of Missy, Eminem, 50, Mary J Blige. And of course reggaeton! ...mostly Don Omar, Daddy Yankee, Wisin & Yandel, and Calle 13.





Advertisement



12th January 2009

bonito
hi wifeth, do you have my bonito cd??? i miss that. make me a copy and send it up? and how cool about your bus! oh the stories we'll tell...
15th January 2009

Hello, Ladies....
Molly, Arielle,.......do you still visit lots? Phone, email, pkgs,...etc.? I miss you both. Hope you're still close. xoxo

Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 65; dbt: 0.1308s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb