leg update TRAVELLERS! DO NOT DESPAIR


Advertisement
Published: April 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So. It's Thursday morning. I went to the health center a week ago, and my leg still isn't healing. Yesterday I called Peace Corps Med Office and said that after a week of antibiotics, the hole still wasn't closed, and, naturally, they said to come in. I came in last night, stayed in a hotel with a hot shower and air conditioning and lovely clean sheets and HOT WATER and now, at 5:30 am, the hole is closed. We shall see what happens today.

For those who are coming to Nicaragua, this thing in my leg is very very rare. If you are travelling in the Nica, staying in hotels for the most part, even if you stay with a host family for part of your trip, you shouldn't worry about Chagas or larvae or any number of things that a Peace Corps volunteer who lives in a poor village for 2 years experiences. Travellers should not worry about strange diseases. That said, if you don't want diarrhea, you should drink bottled water. I drink the potable water in my community and have no problems with it, but my stomach is muy fuerte. Travellers should only worry about diarrhea, nothing much else.

................

So I went to the fachenta Hospital Metropolitano and they checked it out and I have an appointment for surgery tomorrow at 11:00am for the doctor to cut out the whole mess.

In the meantime, I am enjoying the hotel, hot showers, air conditioning, and wireless internet.


Advertisement



29th April 2010

Thank you, but....
Thank you, but, as far as anything that your wedding invitees should concern themselves with............in the words said to me so very often over your Christmas visit, by a super-lookin', muchly huggin', ALWAYS smilin', broad-shouldered young Nican man,......."NO WORRIES!" OK? No worries about the REST of us right now,....just your leg, Molly. Update later today after the doctor?? LONG bus ride, huh? I'll just be hoping that the hot water and shower did, indeed, flush everything clean. AND that this is 100% confirmed. Love you! Laters! Mom
30th April 2010

Molly, I'm going....
Honey, I'm shutting down the puter for the night. We are to get storms for the next 2 days, off and on, so will have it back on between work and storms. Phone number at the hotel?? Or, if I don't hear back from you after work tomorrow w/a number, will call your cell. Love you! Night Night! Dad flies out of StL early Mon. for Mark and Han's wedding in W. Palm Beach, FL!
30th April 2010

visit
You had better get well, because when you come to see me we will have to go to the beach!!!!!

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb