TORSALO SURGERY UPDATE. of iron man 2, pedicures, and upcoming surgery to get the dead thing out of my leg


Advertisement
Published: April 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Human_botfly
http://chppm-www.apgea.army.mil/documents/FACT/HumanBotFlyMyiasisJTFAug2007.pdf

8:30 pm

I am exhausted. Thanks to printing and reading our online mag, for which I am the Travel & Leisure Editor, I read our IT's Tech Guide and downloaded free antivirus software, Panda Cloud Antivirus.... and it is finding allllllllll kinds of things in my computer. Which isn't surprising, but nontheless, worms in my legs, worms in my computer... it's a little much, don't you think?

I am planning on taking the 9:30 expresso to Somoto tomorrow, which gets me in, hopefully, in time for the afternoon bus. Or I might take the later bus, who knows. I'm not thrilled about going back tomorrow, not gonna lie. I like hot showers and air conditioning and crisp sheets. Especially when I'm sick. Or when there's a greater chance of infecting my wound in a site with mosquito larvae infested water, mud everywhere, a latrine filled with botflies, and bucket baths with said mosquito infested water.

That said, I miss my Moropotano family and I dearly miss Lenin. I would have given anything to have him by my side in the operating room instead of a PCMO.

But, since he couldn't be there, I was very glad to have M by my side. We had a fascinating talk about politics in Nica and what people will do if Ortega is elected again in '11... since he changed the constitution so he can be elected now for a 3rd consecutive term. Actually, she talked. A lot. Very vehemently. And I listened. The PCMO's have to hear all of us whine about everything. EVERYTHING. Every bout of diarrhea or stress or having something happen in the States or .... they have to hear EVERYTHING....and it was nice to let M talk and talk and talk and I just listened. Mostly because it was fascinating. She was talking about growing up during the contra war in the 80's in Managua and how that has shaped her politics today. I was asking about the political views of the majority of the PC Staff. We were talking about Danielistas vs Sandanistas. It was an interesting convo, held completely in Spanglish. I prefer X as my doctor, but M did a great job these days getting everything set up with an excellent doctor and surgeon and I am thankful to her for helping me get through this.

I'll say it again. I am so so thankful for free excellent health care that the government provides for us. Having free health care, ESPECIALLY WHEN ABROAD, was a big draw for me in joining the Peace Corps. If you want to live abroad and volunteer and have a safety net, PC is where it's at. Now, I wouldn't have half the medical problems if I wasn't a volunteer in a developing country, living in the countryside. Service is not easy. I've thought about quitting more than a few times. Lots of volunteers extend their service for a few months or year. Some, after two years serving in a country, go on to subsequently serve in another country. I can see the draw, especially with the job market the way it is in the States... but two years has been enough. Hell, I still have half a year left.

Okay, I'm tired. I'm going in philosophical circles. I think it's time to take a hot shower, gently wash all of the iodine off my leg, and get to sleep. Possibly more updates tomorrow morning. Or maybe I will catch that early bus. Be back in Managua next week to get my stitches taken out, which is when I will probably be able to upload more photos.

Over and out on an exhausting Friday.


.................................

4:30 pm

Okay! I'm back from the hospital and my first ever surgery! The doctor/surgeon was great and it went well. He just gave me a local anesthetic so I was conscious and aware the whole time but couldn't feel a thing around my knee. Unbeknownst to anyone, I was watching the procedures in the reflection of the lights above me, so saw the whole thing, albeit not as clearly as I wanted to see it. A doctor from the Peace Corps was in the room at the end as a PCMO has to be present when a volunteer goes in for surgery.

The larvae was large, mangled, and very dead and I am so glad it's out of my body! I have stitces and will have a slight scar (story!). Have to come back next week to have the stitches taken out. At the moment my leg itches like hell, probably the anesthesia wearing off? Taking more doxy and pain relievers and plan to head back to Moropoto tomorrow.

I am the first volunteer that anyone can remember that has had a torsalo, or fly larvae. In the future, for anyone who should be unfortunate enough to have one, don't try to push it out. Smoke it out by blowing smoke into the hole, or put vaseline over the hole and it will die without oxygen. Don't let some 3rd world doctor mangle it so badly that it will never come out without surgery. There are easier ways that this could have been handled. But, what's done is done and now I have a scar to remind me of this particular part of my Peace Corps Adventure in Central America.

Since it's raining and it's the start of the May 1st Labor Day here, I don't plan on going anywhere (re: no pedicure) until I go to the bus station tomorrow and head back to the Mopo.

Right now I am eating a panini and am looking for a movie on cable. Over and out from the wilds of Nicaragua.

..................

7:45 am

OMG went to see Iron Man 2 in the MetroCentro theater last night and it was AWESOME. But then again, I absolutely loved the first one so it was no surprise that I thoroughly enjoyed the 2nd one. And daaaaaamn Scarlett Johansson is hott in this movie! It was a good action flick, not as good as the first Iron Man, but good and it was really really nice to see it in a stadium steating theater.... and in English!

Also, at the mall, pedicures are 200 cords, or about $10, which is expensive for a PCV budget. That said, I think after they take out the whole damn thing in my leg (and I have stitches?) I will want to feel better about my feet and splurge for a much needed pedicure.

Robert Downey Jr is hott and a great Iron Man. Gwyneth Paltrow is a badass Pepper Potts and Scarlett Johansson was just hott. Good Marvel action movie.



Advertisement



1st May 2010

Ewwww but so glad you had that taken care of. Mary P had that too, with surgery back in the States :( SO glad you are treating yourself to some TLC (and some Robert Downey Jr). Hugs!!!
3rd May 2010

therapy
Get some Aloe Vera gel in Managua and it will heal twice as fast with less of a scar!! Looking forward to seeing you soon, glad you are OK!!!!!!

Tot: 0.375s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.2003s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb