Esteli


Advertisement
Published: December 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

MuralMuralMural

I believe this mural is depicting the people in the Sandinista Revolution.
Hi everyone,

I am glad some of you are getting my blogs. Apparently for about a week I was unaware that I made my blog private and emails were not going out to my "subscribers". Now, I think I have gotten my act together and you should receive emails as I complete my blog entries them.

This morning I said good-bye to my family and left the village of San Juan de la Concepcion, which happens to be down the road from La Concepion. The spanish classes were great, but were 4 hours every day. Then there were field trips and other activities every day and there was no time to assimilate what I had learned. And we were all exhausted after the trips to pineapple farms, wine tasting, beach trips, etc. Also, living with the family was tight and I rarely took a shower at their house since it involved using a bowl and a bucket with cold water. So, I bummed showers from the guests who were staying at the lodge and the logistics of this took some time and planning.

So, I have made it to the city of Esteli which is in the north where there was much fighting 20 years ago between the US led Contras and the Sandinistas. The city has murals all over and I have only just ventured out to find my way around. I have found the Central Park and the nearby Catholic Church. I hope to do some Christmas shopping here and just bum around and get some rest. I am kind of happy to have some unscheduled days before I go back. There may be some opportunities to hike to some coffee plantations but now I am keeping my options open.

Here I have found a nice hostel which is run by a british woman who is friends with the british owner of La Mariposa. I haven´t had much of a chance to talk to her yet. She has dorm rooms and private rooms and I have opted for the private room with my own shower for the princely cost of $12 per night (This is so exciting!). If you want a towel you have to pay $1 more. Things are cheaper here than Costa Rica, but you have to scout things out a little more. The name of my hotel is Hostel Luna (Moon Hostel)
Mural of ChildrenMural of ChildrenMural of Children

Esteli is known for its artists who work to keep kids busy making murals such as this one. They are all over the town and apparently you can do a guided tour.
and across the street is Cafe Luz (Light Cafe) where all guests can go to have free coffee (and it is really good!)

Okay, Perhaps more later.
Love, Dawn


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

SecuritySecurity
Security

Here is the gate at the Hostel Luna.
CourtyardCourtyard
Courtyard

At the hostel is a clothesline that surrounds this nice little potted garden.
Common areaCommon area
Common area

Nice sitting areas surround my room including this colorful hammock.
My roomMy room
My room

Here is my room at the Hostel Luna. I am so excited to sleep on a real mattress with sheets and also I can lay all my bathroom stuff out. I am so looking forward to my shower.


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb