Day on Horses


Advertisement
Published: December 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

AllisonAllisonAllison

Here is Allison who was the most experienced rider. She got the toughest and most skittish horse.
Hello everyone,

Today I spent the day on the horses that are rented especially for the students at the Mariposa. The guides were very good, responsible and full of information about the horses and the area. They took us through areas where people lived in absolute poverty. Their houses were tin and garbage. After we passed this area we went on to beautiful forest and farms. We went further to areas near the Volcano Masaya and the lake nearby with the same name. Trotting with these horses was very difficult because the saddles were very rudimentary. Galloping was great, though. But I imagine that all of us are very sore. I have some homeopathic remedies for them if they want them.

The horses were larger than ponies but smaller than quarterhorses. I asked the guide what they were callled and he said "medianos" or mediums, which was quite nice. And even though I am not a natural horsewoman, I didnĀ“t have any problems.

After the ride we had lunch and Paulette showed us the gardens and explained her plan for it. It is very nice to have the nice plants she has: cinnamon, almonds, cloves, gingers as well
DawnDawnDawn

Here I am early in the morning before my butt started to hurt so much.
as many precious wood trees that have been cut down too aggressively in other places.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Later when it was hotLater when it was hot
Later when it was hot

Here I am again once the day warmed up.
Lake MasayaLake Masaya
Lake Masaya

Here is the lake at the base of the volcano. My host sister tells me that there are lots of alligators.
Volcan MasayaVolcan Masaya
Volcan Masaya

Here is the volcano nearest the village. It is active and the lava flow has affected the lake so that it has moved into a cresent shape.


Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0896s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb